Fatherhood is pretending the present you love most is soap-on-a-roap.

Published June 19, 2011 by jrm17

In honor of Father’s Day, I’d thought I’d write about my daddy (and trust me, he can’t deny me as his child because I look exactly like him).  Plus, he’s the one guy in this world that puts up with me and is still willing to be around me free willingly and free of complaint.

My daddy is probably the best daddy in the world because…well, probably because I can be such a daddy’s girl.  When I was little, he was the one to always play with my Barbies and watch princess movies with me.  He would never complain when I would get bored half way through and change my mind, wanting to play something else (and he still doesn’t get mad today when I can’t make up my mind). 

Now, that I’m older, we still spend a lot of time together.  My daddy is the one who will go shopping with me and help me pick out what I”m going to buy in American Eagle.  He lets me dress him from Abercrombie and all my favorite surf brands (He got a really cool Billabong shirt and plaid shorts from me today).  He sat through Black Swan with me (yeah that was kind of uncomfortable).  He watches 90210 and Vampire Diaries with me every week (and he comes up with random theories about Elena and Klaus and Katherine and Damon).  He will listen to all my favorite music when we go somewhere.  My daddy is so awesome he’s even made random cereal runs with me to Wal-Mart when I’ve run out.

My daddy has taught me a lot, too–even of it is stuff daddy’s are supposed to teach.  Like, he was the one who taught me how to throw a spiral and watches the Bama game with me every Saturday.  He taught me everything I know about baseball (and that’s a lot).  He is still impressed with how well I can lay down a bunt and speed up the baseline despite not playing in two years and he never missed a game (in any sport I played for that matter).  He’s been the one who has passed on a love for Duke basketball and turned me into one of those Cameron Crazie wanna-bes who would die to live in Krzyzewskiville or meet Kyle Singler.  He was the crazy dad yelling for his daughter to punch more people during the Homecoming Powder Puff games in high school and getting excited when I got into fights with the bigger girls.

Cornhole tourney at the Bonanza Extravaganza!

But don’t think sports is the only thing I’ve ever learned from my daddy.  My love for peanut butter and pancake syrup sandwiches comes from the lunches we had while my mom worked.  We still spend hours watching cartoons together (Hello, Angry Beavers and A Pup Named Scooby Doo).  We play cornhole when we get bored (or I record it on my camera while he plays in tournaments).

My mom may be one of my best friends but my daddy and I have a special relationship.  We fight all the time but in the end, I am a total daddy’s girl because I know he would do anything for me and will continue to deal with my craziness forever.  I mean who else would I talk about boys to and share a wrap at The Pit with (because any true OBX local knows no one can eat a whole one alone)? Happy Daddy’s Day, Daddy.  Love you!

Leave a Reply

