I Hear Steelers Sing. Are You Listening?

Published December 23, 2011 by jrm17

I always knew Santa loved the Steelers. Photo courtesy of http://www.danburymint.com/secure/Content/

There’s two things I love this time of year: Christmas and my Steelers.  And, boy, did they do a great job of combining this year with the annual Christmas carols.  I’ve been following their Christmas carol videos on Facebook for the past three days but the final topped them all.  It’s a play through of all the previous ones but there’s some new stuff too…and that’s makes it all the better.

We start off with our beloved Coach Tomlin (aka Banjo look-alike) wishing us all a Merry Christmas.  Why thank you, Coach Tomlin.  You are one of the cutest people on this planet.  Then we go to our defensive line singing Winter Wonderland.  They were probably good to start the video series out with.  They had some fun–especially, Chris Hoke, Corbin Bryant and one of my favorite Steelers, Ziggy Hood.  Steve McLendon–the guy in the back with the #90 jersey on–he didn’t seem to be having all that much fun but overall, our D-Line was rocking it.  Most of all, I love Ziggy’s little dance.  I like a big football player who’s not afraid to be a total goof.  Plus, he has one of the coolest names EVER.

Our kickers and tight ends followed with Sleigh Ride.  And it was a let down.  Come on, guys!  Have some Christmas spirit!  Dance around.  Sing with some enthusiasm.  I get it: you don’t want to seem not cool but this just makes you seem like bores.  Coach should’ve taken some control and got them to pep up.  Though I can’t blame them because they didn’t really seem to know the words (I don’t either.  Of course, I probably would’ve made up some stupid ones though).

Frosty was performed next by our Linebackers…and these are some boys who have Christmas spirit.  Stevenson Sylvester and James Farrior were singing loud and proud while they danced around.  It probably helped this group that everyone knows the words to Frosty but I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.  Why?  Because later on in the video, Sylvester and Lawrence Timmons were dancing and singing around like goofs.  We could’ve used a little more from dear James Harrison but I’ll just let him bring it on the field and overlook his lack of enthusiasm.  I’ll just tack it up as him brooding over all the stupid fines, penalties, and suspensions he gets for his hits (Come on y’all!  Can’t you find someone else to pick on with this crap rule.  Let them actually play some football.  You know, with contact since it is a contact sport and all). Plus, he definitely had some fun when there was some messing up from the other guys in his group.

The running backs and receivers sang along with Rudolph and this made my mama very happy because as expected, her Hines had some fun with it ( But seriously, tell me he does not look like Jason Pitts from The Game?  With the sunglasses and everything?  The boys could be twins).  He was sporting that signature smile just like in every game. It wasn’t just Hines having all the fun though.  This group sang Rudolph like a bunch of elementary kids (You cannot tell me you never added in “like a lightbulb” and all that every time you sang it back then).  I very much appreciate Emmanuel Sanders for adding in the parts that were going through my head as I listened because I still add in the stupid extras each time I sing it.  And which ever boy said “Okay” after they sang “Rudolph, won’t you glide my sleigh tonight,” I crack up at him every time I watch this, which is somewhere around five times now.

I spent all week waiting to see the quarterbacks sing just to know what Ben would do.  They grouped with the O-Line and I’m not so sure if it’s what I expected but it worked.  It was ran more like practice with Ben in charge (especially when you see him stop and tell them to get louder like 3 times in the bonus clips).  They sang It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year and it was exactly like a buch of carollers trailing through the neighborhood.  No one was too excited about singing.  No one really knew the words all the well.  But Ben…well, he was having fun.  He kind of stole the show (not that there was much else to look at and that he doesn’t do that on a regular basis).  I really don’t know what to say about these guys but Break!

By far, my favorites were the defensive backs.  They didn’t just have a ball singing.  No, they made up their own Christmas song: Santa Claus Goes Straight to the Ghetto.  And it was hilarious.  I love that they start out with Joy to the World and then decide “Screw that.  We’re too cool for this old school song.” I love that they say the title over and over then Will Allen channels his inner Jason Derulo, busting out with a verse.  I feel like these guys are probably the ones who are the most pumped before every game and it’s what gets a lot of their team mates ready to go as well.  They reminded me a lot of Remember the Titans when they come out on the field with their pre-game song and dance (Remember: Everywhere we go…). 

Let It Snow was sang by the whole team in their segments.  Each group acted the same (though Hines seemed like a kid on a sugar high from too many Christmas cookies).  And then the outtakes came.  It was nice to see that as painful as it seemed, almost everyone seemed to be smiling and having a good time.  I appreciate that they do this every year because it gives me a chance to laugh and watch my boys.  And who know–maybe because they did such an awesome job carolling, my Christmas wish will be fulfilled and we’ll get Number 7 in February (Not that I’m banking on it or anything but hey, I can wish right?)

 P.S.  Next year can we get some Ryan Clark.  Maybe I missed him amongst everything but I didn’t see the Safeties in any group (and if they were, can someone please point them out to me). That’s my boy and I would’ve liked seeing him acting like a fool.

7 comments on “I Hear Steelers Sing. Are You Listening?

  • My spouse and i still can’t quite assume that I could end up being one of those reading the important ideas found on your blog. My family and I are truly thankful on your generosity and for offering me the potential to pursue the chosen career path. Thanks for the important information I acquired from your site.

  • I simply want to mention I am beginner to weblog and absolutely enjoyed you’re blog. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You surely come with fantastic articles and reviews. Kudos for sharing your website.

  • Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  • Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and just could not come across. What a perfect website.

  • I believe this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m satisfied reading your article. But want to observation on some basic issues, The site style is perfect, the articles is actually nice :D. Just right activity, cheers.

  • Leave a Reply

