Audrey Hepburn is the Yoda of My Life

Published January 11, 2012 by jrm17

Whenever I see an article with the words Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Holly Golightly, or Audrey Hepburn, I’m immediately clicking to see what’s being said (I’ve got to protect my girl after all if it’s something reprehensible).  I stumbled upon this article about what Holly Golightly has taught us about love.  It’s a really cute article and for the most part does teach us a few things in the romantic art of Miss Golightly–there’s a few things we apparently learn from Paul as well (Yeah, don’t fall in love with a crazy call girl would be number 1 if you ask me).  And for I agree with Holly about love in some aspects. But, I was thinking about it and while Holly is probably a terrible role model–though I consider her to be one (or in the very least, her and I are highly similar)–Audrey Hepburn, on the other hand, can give us better insight on love and life in general.

“Certain shades of the limelight can wreck a girl’s complexion.”

Okay so this one may be a Holly Golightly one (Audrey was Holly, after all, so no yelling), it’s a very good piece of insight.  We all know that girl who always wants to be the center of attention and thinks she’s the prettiest girl in the world.  And we all know that the same girl, who would probably be gorgeous if she wasn’t trying so hard, isn’t all that pretty.  Her personality kills her natural looks (make-up and a whole lot a fakeness probably does, too).  When a person gets so much attention and thinks they deserve it all the time, it ruins who they really are.  Too much attention is a terrible thing for a person–female or male because girls are not the only one’s this happens to…Holly was just very female oriented in her ways.

“I don’t want to be alone, I just want to be left alone.”

This could be the theme of my life.  When I’m upset, I don’t want to be alone (okay, not always true).  I just want you to not ask me why I’m upset, accept some random outbursts of crying, and go about our business as if nothing were wrong.  Some trying to make me laugh doesn’t always hurt, though.  No one ever wants to feel truly alone.  They just want to feel as if they can mask their feelings well enough for others not to be burdened (I’m just making a conjecture as to what Audrey really meant based on everything I know about her in this case).

“I was born with an enormous need for affection and a terrible need to give it.”

I love this because once again Audrey’s preaching to the choir.  It’s the case when you lose your heart to something within seconds and you can’t get it back because you can’t let go of whatever’s stolen your heart.  And it’s when you constantly feel the need to feel like someone else in the world cares about you.  But worst of all, it’s when that thing that’s stolen you heart, you can never give up on it no matter what it does and how bad it hurts you because you feel like it needs you.  It’s the hardest when it comes to sad, little animals because I get told we can’t take care of anymore animals (Mommy, you know that cat would have come home with us yesterday if you were with us). 

“It’s that wonderful old-fashioned idea that others come first and you come second. This was the whole ethic by which I was brought up. Others matter more than you do, so ‘don’t fuss, dear; get on with it.'”

Basically, she lived by the Winchester way: self-sacrifice for the benefit of others…and I think it’s awesome.  More people should live this way–helping others, putting others needs ahead of your own, practicing manners and common courtesy.  The world was just be a more pleasant place to live in.  I’m a victim of this idea.  Just ask everyone who thinks I’m indecisive or being difficult by being overly agreeable.  I just go along with whatever because it makes everyone else happy and I don’t want to make a fuss (except for with you, Mom 🙂 ).

“Let’s face it, a nice, creamy chocolate cake does a lot for a lot of people; it does for me.”

It might not be cake, but there’s always one thing that can outshine everything else when it comes to cheering someone up.  For Audrey, it was chocolate cake (Finally found something we disagree on since I hate cake).  For Holly Golightly, it was Tiffany’s (because “If I could find a real-life place like Tiffany’s, then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name.”)  For me, it’s ice cream (Okay, it’s anything chocolate or salty….hmmmm, anyone else thinking chocolate covered pita chips?).  There’s something for everyone and it’s usually something really simple and traditional because nothing makes a person feel better than the familiar.

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

One of the best Audrey quotes ever.  This is a girl’s guide to living a happy life.  Pink is the only reason to buy something if whether or not it’s a good purchase is in question (Or purple.  Purple’s really good too).  Laughing is always the best way to burn calories.  It takes such little effort and you’re a whole lot happier than you are running a marathon (Okay, maybe there are some runners who truly enjoy running until you want to puke but I am far from being one of those people).  Finding someone to kiss and kiss a lot is just as good as finding the person who always makes you laugh (A combination of both in one person is the best case scenario).  And if you are able to be strong when everything is wrong, then I truly admire you because I am not a strong person in the slightest (I know, Mom, you think I am but you are crazy).  Being able to stay strong is something I wish I could do…instead, I usually just face a lot of crying and not knowing what to do.  Happy girls are the prettiest because nothing’s better than a girl who has a genuine smile on their face.  Tomorrow can always fix what’s wrong today because you can put it in the past.  And there are such things as miracles (Audrey was living proof of that since she basically lived the same exact fate as Anne Frank in her childhood).

“Paris is always a good idea.”

It’s true.  Like they said in Anastasia, “Paris holds the key to her heart.”  I’ll be the first to admit that (Michael, I don’t want to hear any crap about Paris not being a pretty city.  If it was good enough for Tom to propose to Katie in or for Anastasia and Dimitri, then it’s good enough for me).  Of course, it’s the same premise as with chocolate cake.  It doesn’t necessarily have to be Paris.  For me, it can be Nags Head or Manteo or really anywhere on our little sandbar of the Outer Banks.  It’s just about being in that place that makes you feel special and feels like your home away from home.

“Anyone who ever gave you confidence, you owe them a lot.”

I figured I finish it the way it all started–with a Holly Golightly quote.  This is coming from a person who has zero confidence in herself so if you have someone who gives you confidence, you owe them tremendously because trust me, everything’s a little bit (or a whole lot) harder without confidence.  It helps you make it through life without having to question every decision you make and it’s just nice being sure in something.  Holly was never truly confident, if you ask me.  She was always scared of something–mostly losing her freedom and, therefore, losing herself–and she just couldn’t be truly sure of anything because of that fear.  It’s kind of like Audrey saying a happy girl is the prettiest because a girl with confidence is a little prettier, too.

I’m going to stop now since I could go on forever with Audrey Hepburn quotations.  I always want to live my life as she did–helping others, being herself, and just being as happy as she could possibly be.  She didn’t dwell on the sad things in her life (And let me tell you, she would have certainly had the right to if she did).  Yoda may have been there for the  Anakin (though we all know how that turned out) but I’m living life with Audrey Hepburn (and a little bit of Holly for the fun side) as my Jedi Master.

Side Note: My other favorite thing Audrey is credited as saying is, “There is more to sex appeal than just measurements. I don’t need a bedroom to prove my womanliness. I can convey just as much sex appeal, picking apples off a tree or standing in the rain.” But this is only because she was considered beautiful in a time when she shouldn’t have been.  The ideal girl was Marilyn at the time and Audrey was the exact opposite.  She was skinny and a brunette and built kind of like a boy and I love that Mr. President actually liked Audrey better than Marilyn (Maybe this is just because I know some people who like Marilyn way too much and think I’m a little nuts for liking Audrey better…or maybe it’s because I’m kind of built like Audrey).  Either way, Audrey always wins in my book.

4 comments on “Audrey Hepburn is the Yoda of My Life

  • I simply want to mention I’m very new to blogs and definitely loved this blog site. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with remarkable articles and reviews. Thanks a bunch for revealing your website.

  • I just want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and seriously loved your web-site. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog . You definitely have exceptional article content. Cheers for sharing your website page.

  • Leave a Reply

