Nerd, Bandie, Jock, Vampire (Twice), Terrible Driver: She’s Been It All And I Am Totally Jealous

Published January 22, 2012 by jrm17

Last night we were watching John Tucker Must Die and I was saying that I think that the cast is a very good one.  The four girls are all very pretty and good actors and, well, Jesse Metcalfe can melt the hearts of women everywhere…not just the ones on Wisteria Lane.  Overall, I love this movie and think it’s one of the funniest in my DVD collection.  Then it hit me, Arielle Kebbel–Carrie–has been in a lot of productions that I like and I’m not quite sure why she isn’t more well-known than she is.

The earliest thing I recognize her from is as Taya on Grounded for Life.  Now, I was (okay, still am) a huge Grounded For Life fan.  I know I’ve seen every episode at least three times.  And from the very first episode she was on, I did not like Taya.  It had nothing to do with Arielle.  It had everything to do with the character.  She was playing this super hot new girl who joins the football team and dates Brad.  I’m not saying I really liked Lily or anything (She kind of annoyed the crap out of me) but I was always pulling for Brad and Lily to get together.  Plus, much like Lily, I was super jealous of Taya.  She was hot.  She was dating Brad (dorky or not, the boy was cute).  And she was on the football team (Something my daddy wouldn’t let me do).  Apart from not liking her character, Arielle was very good as an actor just breaking into the business.  She was able to make you kind of feel sorry for Taya in spite of not liking her (Lily was just plain mean to her).  She found a combination of girly and jock that worked well for the character to the point of envy.  And on top of it all, there were a million relationships in the show but out of all of them, she stuck with me (I can recognize Mike Vogel who played Dean but you will never see me picking up on Coffee Shop Joey in anything).

American Pie Presents Band Camp was the next thing I’ve seen of hers (Okay, so I didn’t really realize it was her until I was scrolling through her IMDB page but we’re chalking that up to me not watching Band Camp more than once or twice).  She played Elyse in the movie–Stifler’s little brother’s love interest.  Since I don’t really remember anything from this movie (Seriously, the only one that worth anything is the first one…though I can’t promise that I won’t be seeing the newest one later this year).  I know she did a good job and I laughed at her but there’s nothing that really sticks out from the movie.  I guess it’s good that she can use this on her resume as being part of a well-known franchise and to show her comedic skills but as far as real acting, not sure she really could use this.

Next on her list of roles comes Carrie in John Tucker Must Die.  Okay, so maybe it’s just because I’ve watched it within the last 24 hours…okay, it’s not. I’ve seen this movie like a hundred times…anyway, Arielle was awesome (The whole cast was).  This is where you start to see something that I really like about Arielle.  She plays a different character every time for the most part.  Yes, she is normally playing a somewhat strong female character but the details are different almost always.  Taya was a jock.  Elyse was a Bandie.  Carrie is a really super smart girl with a super vengeful side (A super vengeful side that she is very much entitled to).  She was able to play Carrie in a way that shows her pretentious side (The whole getting into Harvard.  John deserves the best, which is me.  I’m so smart and you aren’t thing) while still making her real enough to make the other girls being her friends believable.  While I’m much more of a Beth (Okay, maybe I would like think I’m a Beth and I’m really more of a Carrie or, most likely, a Kate), I’m still able to relate to the character.  I think it takes a good actor to be able to get people to relate to aspects of your character no matter who they are most like.

Now, I love the next movie she was in but I will admit that I wasn’t really paying attention to her: Vampires Suck (Yeah, so Matt Lanter who is Liam in 90210 was Edward and let’s just say I find Edward a whole lot less stupid and icky when he’s played by Matt Lanter).  She played Rachel, who was the Victoria character for those of you Twi-Tards.  If she is going to use anything from her roles as proving she can be funny, she should use this.  The whole movie cracked me up but she did a really good job.  I love the whole Black Eyed Peas thing when they first show up.  And it just proves that she can look good with any hair color since she was a red-head in this film (I like her best as a blonde or brunette though).

So this next role of hers was by far my favorite thing she has done; she played Lexi–Stefan’s best friend–in Vampire Diaries.  She’s has actually only been in three episodes (which I never realized it was so few) but she has made a serious impact (I wouldn’t be so sure the writers won’t bring her back from the dead again.  They have a habit of doing that but I’m not going to complain).  Once again, it was her playing a different role.  She was a really strong and wise female character.  She’s the only one who, apart from the main cast, could get away with saying insulting things to Damon without being killed (Okay, maybe he did kill her but it wasn’t because she was mean to him.  He was just trying to ensure his and Stefan’s safety and that’s why I forgave after about ten seconds of being mad).  She is the only one who knows how to bring Stefan out of his whole Ripper thing.  She practices some tough love but is still friendly enough to make you like her.  There haven’t been many vampires on the show that I’ve liked other than the Salvatores let alone female ones (Okay, Caroline and Katherine may have been the only other ones I like).  Plus, the more I read the Stefan’s Diaries books, the more I like Lexi and want them to bring her back even more.  I would love to party with Bon Jovi with her and Stefan.

Her most recent role is one that I have paid attention to her in but I’m not sure there’s much I can comment on.  You see, she’s only been in two episodes of  90210 thus far (She’s credited on IMDB for being in at least one more, though).  She’s playing Vanessa, the girl who is lying about hitting Liam with her car and is now kind of his love interest.  All I know is this is Arielle’s chance to play the villain I guess.  Or, of course, knowing 90210, she’ll be able to be the victim in the end as well.  The only thing I am sure of about her character is that I don’t trust her.  Obviously because she’s lying to Liam since she HIT HIM WITH HER CAR!  But she’s just sneaky (Another new role for her, I guess).  I never thought I wouldn’t like a role Arielle takes but for once, I’m not rooting for her character.  As an actor, like anything else I’ve seen her in, I think she’s doing fabulous.  She’s portraying enough to show that we shouldn’t trust Vanessa without letting on too much one way or the other (Nice or villanous).  I can’t wait to see where this role goes.  I may be rooting for an Annie and Liam reunion but it’s going to be interesting to see whatever chaos she causes.

In the end, I think Arielle Kebbel is a very underrated actress.  She’s taken numerous roles and made them memorable for me.  Maybe it’s just because I happen to stumbled upon her work and like it over and over again but I think she’s very good.  She’s pretty and has shown that she’s versatile.  Given the chance, she could make a great lead on a television show and I think she could handle being the female lead in a big Hollywood movie as well (I wouldn’t consider her the lead in John Tucker).  Here’s hoping that we see a lot more of her in the future.

36 comments on “Nerd, Bandie, Jock, Vampire (Twice), Terrible Driver: She’s Been It All And I Am Totally Jealous

  • I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogging and really enjoyed this web-site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You absolutely have tremendous stories. With thanks for sharing with us your web site.

  • Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  • I write a comment whenever I appreciate a post on a site or I have something to contribute to the conversation. Usually it is a result of the passion communicated in the post I looked at. And after this post Nerd, Bandie, Jock, Vampire (Twice), Terrible Driver: She’s Been It All And I Am Totally Jealous Something Witty, Clever, and Funny. I was actually moved enough to write a thought 🙂 I do have a few questions for you if it’s okay. Is it just me or does it look like some of the comments come across as if they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at other places, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list all of your communal sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  • It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  • I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  • Good article. And just to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but for me hair is really the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist from the saloon where I go offered me around 2 months ago some type of hair oil which will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t plan to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my nick name.Also sorry for my bad english 🙂

  • What i do not realize is actually how you are not really much more well-liked than you might be right now. You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore considerably relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!

  • What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its aided me. Great job.

  • I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

  • Outstanding post, I believe people should larn a lot from this site its very user genial . “My father always told me, ‘Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.'” by Jim Fox.

  • Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “Curiosity will conquer fear even more than bravery will.” by James Stephens.

  • Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “England and America are two countries separated by the same language.” by George Bernard Shaw.

  • I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  • Leave a Reply

