What Classes You Couldn’t Care Less About Teach You

Published January 27, 2012 by jrm17

Since I don’t have many sociology classes this semester (Ick! But I’m working on the whole Communications major thing) and since I don’t have my favorite professor (April and I miss you!), I don’t plan on actually learning much that will interest me or that I will ever want to bring up in conversation…However, a week back at school has taught me a few things….a few useless things that I haven’t actually been taught by any of my professors.

First off is that being a double major and in the Honors program doesn’t translate into college getting easier as you go on.  I’ve had 4 days of classes (6 classes total) and 2 of those classes are only 1 day a week…and I’m already behind.  I’ve spent the entire past week doing nothing but homework (Thank you all upper level courses.  I didn’t actually enjoy having a life or anything).  I’ve been reading like nobody’s business.  You want to know about communications law, death and dying in ancient Egypt, the impact of computers on society, the script for Little Miss Sunshine, quantitative social research, or how to write a good screenplay…yeah, I probably can’t tell you anything but I swear I’ve done the reading.  Here’s some advice for future Honors students at my college (Okay, it’s more of a warning):  Your Senior Seminar professor will have readings required for the first day of class and the book will not be in the bookstore and she will not have posted the syllabus that said it but you will be responsible for these reading and the next week’s prior to class (And when she says that they are all only like 2 pages–what she really means is 30 pages a piece about Osiris and the path of the Sun and some other stuff I have no interest in learning).

The second thing I have learned is that not all professors actually like when you try to engage in a debate with them.  Maybe it’s because we are very much encouraged to do so in both of my departments and in the Honors program that I’m used to my opinions and arguments being respected but my Computer Science professor isn’t such a fan of this.  We were discussing SOPA yesterday and I kind of fought with him.  All I wanted to point out–with the idea that there’s no such thing as bad press–is that sometimes pirating benefits the person whose material is being downloaded because it is free publicity to the downloader’s friends and, therefore, they could make money when the friends buy the material legally.  I was apparently wrong.  Very very wrong.  He also told me that me and all my fellow students were terrible people for posting videos on Facebook (and in my case this blog) because we are violating copyrights.  The artist did not intend for the material to end up there.  Okay, dude, we aren’t claiming it as our own work and we are usually supporting/encouraging whatever it is we post.  I’m not so sure artists are going to be mad at us for that.  And I’m not so sure I’m going to enjoy this class.

This one is kind of in conjunction with the previous one.  When it comes time for advising and registering for classes, pick someone near your own intelligence level to ask for recommendations (This should be read as don’t pick the most freakishly smart friend you have and listen to him).  If you don’t heed this advice, you will end up like me in the Computer Science class.  I’m not saying it’s going to be hard.  There’s really nothing profound and groundbreaking about the impact of computers on society if you ask me (Okay, so maybe we’ve talked about this kind of stuff in terms of the media so I know a good portion of it).  What is going to suck is that this professor is very condescending to those of us who aren’t CompSci majors and we are all wrong in every aspect of everything (I don’t handle being told I’m wrong very well when I know I’m not).  It would behoove you to err on the side of caution and ask your friends who aren’t super smarter than you and probably stick with those who you’ve had class with before.  You know how they handle classes and they know about you.

Law is nothing to be studied in the morning is also something I’ve come to learn.  I adore the professor who teaches my

class.  She is one of my favorites and normally I love any class I take with her.  But there’s something about listening to law at 10 in the morning that is enough to send me straight to unconsciousness.  And I’m not the only one.  I watched the guy next to me sleep for over half the class.  The girl in front of me shopped the entire time.  And one girl I’m pretty sure came in pretty drunk.  What was I doing?  Well, the occasional text was sent but I was taking very detailed notes in a pathetic attempt to not fall back asleep (Okay, I kind of wanted to fall asleep during my Political Trials class last semester and that was at lunch time.  Maybe there’s a reason I’m not a Law and Society Major.  Or maybe , it’s bad timing and a professor I didn’t like last semester).

Okay, this one’s nothing new but you tend to gravitate toward your own kind in classes (It’s that whole sociological thing about us sticking with cohorts where we see similarities between us and the other members).  The Computer Science class I’m taking is a requirement for all students so basically none of us actually care about the topic.  Therefore, when you look around, you can pick what major each person is.  I’m with the Sociology/Psychology/Social Work crowd.  There’s like 4 of us and a few other people we know (Yeah, our departments are all squished together since our school’s small).  The Education people are in the same row but on the other side of the room.  The actual Science people are behind us.  The unknowns are in the front row.  But it happens in classes within your major as well.  You see, I’m stuck with a bunch of people I don’t know in Law because I decided to sit with my Speech class buddy from last semester.  I’m with my other girls from that class (and the boy we’ve adopted to give us some diversity) in Screen Writing.  I know my other friends always sit with the same group and judge all the others in their classes as well (Yeah, we talk about everyone behind their backs in the CMA but my SOC family includes like everyone in the department.  Again, we’re really that small).

I’ve learned some other stuff that isn’t all that important in my whole four days back and I’m sure I’ll learn other useless information.  Hopefully, this semester is going to get a little easier as things go along.  Who knows?  Since my friends are around just about never when I am, I might even pull off some stellar grades thanks to studying out of boredom and being too lazy to carry around my laptop.  Loneliness might turn out to be a good thing after all.

44 comments on “What Classes You Couldn’t Care Less About Teach You

  • Hi would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  • I leave a leave a response whenever I appreciate a post on a website or I have something to contribute to the discussion. Usually it is a result of the sincerness displayed in the post I read. And on this post What Classes You Couldn’t Care Less About Teach You Something Witty, Clever, and Funny. I was excited enough to drop a thought 🙂 I actually do have a few questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or do some of these remarks look like coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you make a list all of all your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  • Great ¡V I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task..

  • There are certainly numerous details like that to take into consideration. That could be a great point to bring up. I offer the ideas above as general inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you bring up the place an important factor will be working in sincere good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged round issues like that, however I’m sure that your job is clearly recognized as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impression of only a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  • Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  • Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  • Very good post. And just to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but for me hair is really the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist from the saloon where I go gave me around 2 months ago some kind of hair oil that will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t plan to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my name.Also my apologies for my poor english 🙂

  • Very good article. And to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but to me hair is really the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist from the saloon where I go offered me for about two months ago some type of hair oil that will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t plan to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my user name.Also my apologies for my bad english 🙂

  • You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  • These variety of article are always inspiring and I prefer to look at superior content so I happy to unearth many first-rate position right here in the publish, producing is simply huge, thank you to the article

  • I’ve recently started a site, the info you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The man who fights for his fellow-man is a better man than the one who fights for himself.” by Clarence Darrow.

  • Undeniably imagine that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the simplest factor to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked even as folks consider issues that they plainly do not recognise about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as neatly as defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks!

  • Some truly wonderful articles on this internet site, thanks for contribution. “I finally know what distinguishes man from other beasts financial worries. – Journals” by Jules Renard.

  • You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  • Hello pal. My lover and i actually appreciate the post as well as online web-site all in all! That posting is really plainly composed in addition as very easily understandable. Your WP design is amazing also! Might be good to learn wherever I may get this. If possible retain up the fantastic deliver the results. We need far more these web site entrepreneurs just like you online and a good deal fewer nonsense writers. Great!

  • An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he in truth bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? It is highly helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog submit!

  • Great write-up, I am normal visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time. “There is a time for departure even when there’s no certain place to go.” by Tennessee Williams.

  • Leave a Reply

