So We Beat On, Boats Against the Current, Borne Back Ceaselessly Into The Past.

Published January 30, 2012 by jrm17

Photo courtesy of http://reading.cornell.edu/

The first time I read it I was in the 11th grade and ever since then I’ve been hooked.  Between the fabulous parties and the whole ignoring prohibition and the flappers and the drama, The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite books and one of the best ones ever written.  I heard about the upcoming Gatsby film sometime early last year but now I’m getting really excited about it (This may have something to do with us being in the year it’s slated to come out…Or maybe it’s because Leonardo DiCaprio was overlooked in the Academy Awards nominations.  I know there wasn’t much of a reason to nominate him but when one of the hosts of the Today Show said that the nominees were one of the most good-looking groups of men, I was a little thrown off–I mean Leo and Daniel Craig weren’t in it…and there were at least two reasons to nominate Daniel.  Ahem, Dream House and The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo ringing any bells?).

According to IMDB, it’s set to come out Christmas day of this year (Really?  Don’t I already have enough then?  Why couldn’t it be over the summer?  It would make a perfect summer hit).  My dear Leo is playing Gatsby.  I really like this casting (I swear I would have been stoked to see it Leo or not).  He’s got the right look for Jay.  He’s blonde and very handsome.  And I think Gatsby’s personality will be no issue for him to handle.  There isn’t much depth if you ask me…or maybe I’ve read it so many times that I’ve got him figured out very well.  All you need is a dash of self-loathing, a pinch of a troubled past, a cup of a terrible need to be loved, some delusional tendencies, and a whole heaping of obsession.  It should be no issue for Leo at all.  Plus, I’ve never been a huge Gatsby fan (I really have a thing for Nick though).  To me, I can see Leo being able to handle Jay in the same way he played Jack so long ago in Titanic (I may be an insult to the female community here but I am so NOT a fan of that movie.  Boat sinks, woman throws ring, we get it.  The only good thing that came out of this was Britney’s man going down to get the ring for her in Oopps! I Did It Again).  It’ll be using a good balance of douche and sissy.

My dear Nick Carraway is being played by Tobey Maguire.  Okay, I not feeling this so much.  Physically, he’s perfect for the role.  He’s very clean cut and well put together.  I feel aesthetically he is brilliant as Nick…But I’m not a huge Tobey fan.  I didn’t really like Spiderman (Though, I can see where he fits Peter Parker well).  As I’m writing this, I’m seeing that this is me being picky because I’m sure he will make a fine Nick.  His character isn’t anything that should be difficult.  He basically is only there to narrate the story of Gatsby and be the catalyst for bringing Daisy and Gatsby together.  His personality doesn’t really play any significance in the book.  Sure, he’s the kind of guy that people seem to open up to and deem as a friend almost instantly but that doesn’t mean anything pivotal in the plot.  Maybe it has something to do with Tom taking Nick to his apartment with his mistress but I never really get the feeling that this means anything important every time I read it.

I’ve tried to figure out who I would have wanted to cast as Nick and to be completely honest, I don’t actually know.  Tobey is starting to seem like the best possible actor the more I think about it.  Ryan Reynolds would be too pretty and just doesn’t have the right personality to play Nick.  He would be more Gatsby than Carraway.  Jake Gyllenhaal might work but I don’t know if he could pull off the clean cut, sophisticated look as well as Tobey.  Ashton Kutcher, while he would have been amazing to look at, wouldn’t be a good fit.  He’s too rugged when he’s not cleaned up and pretty when he is.  And, of course, I’m not sure I could take him all that seriously as I take Nick. Topher Grace could have been a good possibility.  Actually, I kind of like this one.  I’ve never been the biggest fan but I think he could have worked (Then again, I have always thought that him and Tobey Maguire are kind of interchangeable).

As for the girls, I’ll be honest and admit it: I don’t really know any of the females casted.  I’ve heard of them but I couldn’t tell you a single thing about their work.  Carey Mulligan was cast to play Daisy (I’ve always kind of related to Daisy in some strange way.  I think it’s because we both buy into the whole beautiful, little fool thing).  When I looked on IMDB, it said she played Kitty Bennet in Pride & Prejudice, which I really liked, but I can’t remember a thing about Kitty (It’s been a while.  Maybe I should rewatch it).  However, when you look at the stills from the movie, I’m going to go with she’s going to be a great Daisy.  She has the look and from the emotions you can see in the photos, I’m going to put my money on she pulls off the personality as well (I kind of think Daisy would be the hardest to portray.  She has the most emotions, secrets, and depth).

Isla Fisher (Okay, I do know her from Confessions of a Shopaholic and Wedding Crashers) is Myrtle.  It’s a good fit.  Myrtle doesn’t play a hugely important role for the most part.  She’s really pretty so that works brilliantly.  It’ll make it easy to see why Tom has her as a mistress. 

Now out of all the female characters, Jordan Baker is by far my favorite.  It’s a combination of her attitude and the fact she’s Nick’s love interest.  She keeps him on his toes and comes and goes as she pleases.  She reminds me a little of Holly Golightly in that whole won’t get tied down way.  She will be played by Elizabeth Debicki, a newcomer (So new that IMDB didn’t have a picture of her).  So after a quick search, I found a photo…and she’s going to have to a really good actress to make me overlook the fact that I don’t think she fits the Jordan role that well.  Jordan is really sexy and tomboy at the same time.  She’s pretty much a total badass and I don’t get that feeling when I look at Debicki.  Here’s hoping she doesn’t ruin Jordan for me.

Having the movie come out Christmas day is going to pit Leo against Leo since his other movie, Django Unchained, is being released the same day.  I know which one will be on my list if I have to pick between the two (And if a miracle happens and I find a few hours to sneak away from everything going on).  If not, I will just have to wait until the DVD comes out and reread my copy for time number a million and one.  F. Scott Fitzgerald created the most fabulous reality possible in his work and I still stand by that I would make an amazing flapper so bring on the ’20s and send me to a party at Gatsby’s.  Francis Ford Coppola and Jack Clayton recreated with Mia Farrow and Robert Redford and swept me away.  I don’t know if this version will come close to that but I’m still going to think it’s one of the greatest stories ever.

39 comments on “So We Beat On, Boats Against the Current, Borne Back Ceaselessly Into The Past.

  • Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But just imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website could certainly be one of the best in its field. Very good blog!

  • I rarely drop responses, but i did some searching and wound up here So We Beat On, Boats Against the Current, Borne Back Ceaselessly Into The Past. Something Witty, Clever, and Funny. And I do have a few questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it seem like some of these comments come across like they are coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at other places, I would like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you list of all of your communal sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  • I am writing to let you understand of the helpful encounter our daughter encountered reading your web site. She discovered several issues, not to mention how it is like to have an incredible giving heart to make many others clearly have an understanding of some complicated issues. You really did more than her expected results. Many thanks for offering these valuable, safe, edifying as well as unique tips about the topic to Emily.

  • Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  • Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Appreciate it!

  • Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good blog with exciting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this web site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  • I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most definitely will make certain to do not put out of your mind this web site and give it a glance regularly.

  • certainly like your web site but you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell the truth however I’ll definitely come back again.

  • I think that is one of the such a lot vital information for me. And i am happy studying your article. But should commentary on few basic things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is actually great :D. Excellent activity, cheers.

  • Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good web site with exciting content, that is what I need. Thanks for keeping this website, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  • The following time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I do know it was my choice to learn, but I truly thought youd have one thing fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could possibly fix when you werent too busy looking for attention.

  • I loved up to you will obtain carried out proper here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get bought an nervousness over that you want be handing over the following. sick no doubt come more earlier again since exactly the same just about a lot steadily within case you shield this hike.

  • I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website :). “Royalty has always been an unconscious but all-consuming goal of the European immigrant.” by Vine Deloria, Jr..

  • Another thing I have really noticed is the fact that for many people, low credit score is the reaction of circumstances outside of their control. As an example they may have already been saddled through an illness and as a consequence they have high bills going to collections. It might be due to a job loss or the inability to work. Sometimes separation and divorce can really send the financial circumstances in the undesired direction. Many thanks sharing your ideas on this blog.

  • Good website! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day! “If you are going to do something wrong at least enjoy it.” by Leo C. Rosten.

  • Leave a Reply

