Wish Granted

Published April 18, 2012 by jrm17

A while back, I wrote about Cartoons and how I really missed the old ones.  Well, somewhere someone was listening because this past weekend, I was trying to find a movie to watch and when I went to the movie channels, Boomerang appeared.  That’s right.  The Cartoon Network channel that runs all the old (Or, okay, let’s not call them all old since some were new when I was a kid and I am not old) shows.  They are missing some of my favorites.  They have some that I never would have picked but they aren’t failing at keeping me happy.  I may have watched basically nothing but cartoons and the O’s games since I discovered our new channel.

The one show that really surprised me was A Puppy In My Pocket.  It’s about Polly Pocket!  Now, I know this was not on television when I was growing up because those were my favorite toys and I definitely would have known if they made a show about her.  After a little research, I found out that it didn’t actually air in the US until the beginning of this year on Boomerang and that it aired in Europe just last year.  Katie is Polly and she must help pets go to their rightful owners and try to get the princess back in Pocketville.  This all sounds like something I would greatly enjoy.  However, it only comes on–as far as I can tell–at 7:30 in the morning.  This isn’t some ungodly hour and I am up most days at this time.  Nonetheless, I tried to watch one episode and it just wasn’t all I thought it was cracked up to be.  I think that’s because my favorite thing about Polly Pockets was dressing them and making them be my friends and me.  And the princess aspect just isn’t the right kind of princess for me.  I feel terrible for not wanting to watch this more since I loved them so much (In fact, I’m thinking about getting my daddy to get all my boxes down from the attic thanks to this).  However, it’s not going to be up there on my must watch list.  It’ll be on my It’s 7:30 in the Morning and I need Something to Keep Me Awake list.

That’s the only show that really threw me for a loop on the channel.  Right now, as I’m typing this, the opening theme to Scooby Doo, Where Are You? is playing and I’m pretty excited because I love Scooby.  I don’t think there was a single Scooby series that I hated and didn’t watch.  And right after the gang defeats the phantom in this episode, I get to watch A Pup Named Scooby Doo.  Boomerang is definitely helping their ratings by showing Scooby.  I think he’s pretty much universally loved by everyone no matter what age.  It was one of my mama’s favorites so she would always watch it with me.  She’s probably seen every episode, too.  I know that when my little cousins were younger they loved him (Now, they are at those ages where nothing is cool enough for them).

There are a few other shows that are of the older variety, too.  The Flinstones and The Jetsons are shown regularly.  How else do you think I got my mama’s attention with this?  Those were her favorites (Okay, I may have loved both of them, too, but I’m still pulling for the Flintstone Kids).  Popeye comes on in the very, very early morning.  Yogi is on in the early afternoon.  Both the Smurfs and the Snorks come on a lot (Everyone finally agreed with me that the Snorks do look like bongs and that it’s really funny they are bongs who live under water.  Maybe this wasn’t the best show for me to watch as a kid).  And to top it all off, Tom and Jerry gets shown, too.

However, Tom and Jerry also comes with some airings of the Tom and Jerry Kids.  This literally makes me one of the happiest people

ever.  I absolutely love the Tom and Jerry Kids to the point where I might have it on DVD and I might have once or twice made my boyfriend watch cartoons like this when he came over because I am very lame and love cartoons passionately.  I haven’t been home when it comes on yet thanks to my stupid classes (I’m thinking I should just skip the rest of the semester and watch cartoons) but my summer will be dedicated to watching the Tom and Jerry kids.

Captain Planet is the only other one from my early childhood that I’ve seen come up on my TV guide.  I used to love it but I haven’t been home to see it and my heart’s not really broken.  If I get to, then I get to, but I’m not going to cry over it.

But wait!  That’s not all.  There are plenty of shows from my later childhood.  Remember the Cartoon Cartoons?  Yeah, we get to relive that.  Sadly, Ed, Edd, and Eddy is not on the list but all the rest are (With the exception of Courage the Cowardly Dog, which I am totally okay with because that show scared me endlessly).  They are both on Cartoon Network I think. Cow and Chicken is one of them on Boomerang, though.  Now, I always though this one was a little weird.  It was funny.  I loved I am Weasel and I R Baboon but there was something about the Red Guy that really creeped me out.  Plus, the fact their parents were just legs and there was a boneless chicken cousin.  Yeah, these creators had some issues.

The two that I have been watching the most is Johnny Bravo and the Powerpuff Girls.  Now, I always knew the Johnny Bravo was a tool and deserved to be slapped every time he was (I watch the Christmas episode every year so I am very aware of how sweet he can be, too).  What I didn’t realize is how many classic movie references there is.  We watched it the other night and found quite a few.  There was an E.T. one and a Planet of the Apes one.  Those are the only ones I can remember but I know there was a few others.  As for the Powerpuff Girls, I was never actually a fan of them as a kid.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t watch them but I liked making fun of them.  I was always creeped out by Him–you know, that Devil looking guy that talked and dressed like a girl.  That was highly disturbing as a kid.  But I loved Mojojojo.  He is one of the funniest cartoon characters I can think of.  He’s probably my generations equivalent of Dr. Doofenshmirtz on Phineas and Ferb.

Teen Titans comes on right after the Powerpuff Girls so I have watched a few minutes of that.  It was never a show I liked or watched.  And it holds true today.  Pink Panther and Friends comes on, as well.  I don’t really remember this one because it’s not the original one but I’ve caught a few episodes before I leave for class and it’s pretty funny.  I liked the Pink Panther then and I still do.  The final show that comes on is the Mr. Men show.  You’ve seen the shirts that say things like Little Miss Chatterbox or Little Miss Stubborn.  It’s those characters only in a cartoon.  This one started when I was in middle or high school, so I never really watched it.  It always seemed like a little more mature Wow Wow Wubbzy (Don’t judge.  I really like Nick Jr.).  Maybe I’ll give it another shot before I completely dismiss it.

There are a few other shows I would love to see aired on the network but I think they do a pretty good job of mixing the cartoon from various generations and getting a good sample of what they were like.  My generation was defined by Cartoon Cartoons and NickToons.  Earlier generations (and me) were all about the Hanna-Barbera and the kids right after me don’t really care about reliving childhood just yet.  Okay, I need to get back to Scooby…a pup named Scooby Doo (Stuck in your head now, isn’t it?  You’re welcome).

Leave a Reply

