Monday Night is Movie Night…Apparently

Published May 30, 2012 by jrm17

I know I’ve been talking about movies a lot lately but watching movies is about the only interesting thing going on in my life right now.  That’s why I’m going to not sound pathetic when I say we watched about five movies Monday (That’s not that bad right?  Right?).  Okay, so it wasn’t five whole movies.  It was more like one whole movie, one almost whole movie, two halves, and three minutes of another.

We’ll go in order of how much we watched so that means we start with The Thing.  Being the super nice boyfriend that he is (Okay, that’s debatable if you ask me.  Just kidding 🙂 ), Michael put on The Thing because I love horror movies.  Turns out it’s not so much horror as it is sci-fi and I am very picky about the aliens I let attempt to take over the world in the movies I watch.  They need to have Tim Riggins fighting them or…well, I can’t really think of any other aliens I watch.  Do the tremors count?  Or gremlins?  Or maybe Monsters Vs. Aliens?  Anyway, we sat there for quite a few minutes watching this white Arctic setting and listening to “ba dum” over and over.  Seriously, I’m pretty sure we went five minutes without hearing any dialogue and just a lot of incessant “ba dum.”  That was enough for me and I changed the channel.

What did I change it to?  Well, on the next channel or so, The Roommate was playing.  It wasn’t too far into the movie but Minka and Leighton already had moved into the dorm.  I caught Mike up on it rather quickly with what I could remember from seeing it in theaters.  To be completely honest, I’m not sure why we do not own this movie.  I really like.  I think Leighton Meester plays an excellent psycho and Cam Gigandet is absolutely, moronically cute.  I will say, though, that when we saw it in theaters, I went into it thinking it was going to have this super amazing cast.  I mean, Leighton Meester, Minka Kelly (Yes, stupid Lyla Garrity with the annoying voice), Cam Gigandet (my dear love Volchuck), Matt Lanter (my love Liam from 90210), and Nina Dobrev (aka Elena Gilbert/Katherine Pierce).  That being said, really Nina and Matt are in it like a whole two seconds but that was cool because the plot was really interesting.  Who doesn’t wonder what would happen if their roommate turned out to be some psychotic witch?  There are only two big issues I have with this movie and, well, they are both sort of personal things.  First off, I’m sure this didn’t bother anyone else but Danneel Harris is in it (Also, known as Platica from Ten Inch Hero).  Yeah, she is Jensen Ackles wife–apparently she’s taken his last name according IMDB.  I know that shouldn’t be a reason to hate her and I should be happy he found someone he loves but, you know what, I don’t care.  He married her and she’s gorgeous and I hate her and that’s reason enough for me.  The second issue is something I’m sure basically everyone who has watched it agree with (and if you haven’t seen the movie and plan on watching it, I would just skip this next part because it’s a spoiler): that crazy bee-otch kills the cat!  Seriously!  That was about the cutest little thing I have ever seen and she killed it!  Who in the world can kill something named Cuddles and meows that teeny meow that it had?  Told you that girl was nuts.

Oh, on second thought there is one other thing.  When Jason calls and Leighton pretends to be Minka, who is really going to believe that?  There is no way their voices sound similar on the phone.  But whatever.  He was a douche and got what he deserved.  So we didn’t get to finish this movie because we had to pick up dinner and I can’t really remember the ending in totality but I’m still questioning why we never bought it when it came out.  That’s on my to do list.

Okay, the next movie we watched I was super excited about.  We caught the last half hour or so of The Smurfs.  I love the Smurfs.  It is one of my favorite cartoons but just from the little part we saw, I don’t think I will be seeing the remainder of the movie or the sequel.  It was just weird–especially at the end when all the Smurfs start to attack Gargamel and are chanting “la la la la.”  That was seriously one of the creepiest things I have ever seen.  The only reason I wanted to see and will be inclined to see the second one is because of Neil Patrick Harris.  I absolutely love him.  He is one of the most adorable men ever.  I liked the whole he gave Sofia Vergara the moon thing, too, but that’s just because I’m a sucker for anything remotely related to Jimmy Stewart and It’s A Wonderful Life.  Anyway, I was completely scarred by this movie and I was a little scared to watch the Smurfs this morning (I did.  I made it through.  It was cool.  Everything went well and there was no creepy chanting).

Moving on to the fourth movie, which we watched over half of (I think). You’re So Cupid!  Okay, I will admit that it was my fault we watched this.  I saw that it was about the daughters of Cupid and love and stuff and got really interested.  Then we started watching it and Leo from Charmed came on the screen.  I got excited and wouldn’t let Michael change the channel.  I was wrong.  This had some of the worst and cheesiest writing I have ever heard.  I can’t even explain how lame this movie was.  I did see after a quick run through of the billing that Malese Jow was in it (I didn’t see her).  That really makes me sad because she is a good actress and the fact she got killed off Vampire Diaries and did this movie is just terrible.  I’m not even going to talk about this one anymore.  I will take the blame for everything (Not just 12 percent of the blame).

Now, we can talk about a good movie, one that we watched all but ten minutes of–Cars 2.  You see, on Sunday when we went to the Orioles game, they played This or That with Cars and Finding Nemo.  I hate Nemo (Blasphemy, I know, but I didn’t like it).  However, Cars is one of my favorite Disney movies (So much so that Michael bought it for me for my birthday last year).  Anyway, Cars won, Mike mentioned he hadn’t seen the second one (I went without him to see it), and then lo and behold, we found it on Encore.  I’m not sure whether I like the second or first one better since the second one is more about Mater than Lightning McQueen but I crack up at both of them every time.  I like the second one for the fact that Mater is really funny and I like his girlfriend.  It was definitely a change in the plot from Lightning ending up in Radiator Springs to Mater becoming a secret agent but, hey, I like what I like.  Apparently, I am not getting this one for my birthday this year and I haven’t felt like spending the $20 to get it, but I will own it someday.

The final movie we watched (Hey!  That brings the count up to six.  Oh, my Lord, we are lame) was The Avengers.  I know.  I know.  I swore that we wouldn’t see it until Mike’s mom bought it on DVD but his parents were going and we needed something to do.  Plus, we knew we’d get it forced upon us on vacation later this summer so why not go in knowing what to expect?  Turns out that all the hype was well deserved.  Neither of us really like any of the movies leading up to this one.  Iron Man we both think was good.  I liked Thor (It might have been because I love Natalie Portman and he’s hot but I’m not saying anything).  We both were really disappointed with Captain America and Hulk.  I went in with not-so-high hopes.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The writing was fantastic.  Iron Man continued to be really funny and even Captain America had his moments (Is it just me or is he the most uptight, dull superhero ever?).  You could clearly see where the budget went to because the effects were fantastic.  Me being the film nerd I am, I picked up on quite a few shots that were really well done with camera angles.  Out of all the Marvel movies, this one was by far my favorite.  I don’t plan on seeing the upcoming Nick Fury movie or Captain America 2 (I say I don’t plan to but somehow I know I will be forced to watch them) but Marvel has my seal of approval after this one.  However, it may have also helped that Thor and Hawkeye were really cute.  On a side note, did anyone else think the aliens looked like Tharks with modern metal and couldn’t take the girl who plays Robin on How I Met Your Mother seriously?

Okay, I know that’s a lot of movies to take in in one day but we did it.  Plus, I watched Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone that morning.  We might just be a couple of movie nerds and will have to admit it.  Maybe that’s why I’m writing my paper about movies.  Maybe that’s why I know just about every movie I will see for the remainder of the year.  Well, on to work on this paper…

Leave a Reply

