Let’s Have Breakfast, Lunch, And Dinner At Tiffany’s!

Published June 22, 2012 by jrm17

It’s been pretty boringly busy around here lately so we’re going to talk about something that I am clearly an expert on: Tiffany’s.  I’m just crazy about Tiffany’s (Don’t get me started I can quote the whole movie and tell you things about it you would probably never know otherwise)!  Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favorite movies ever; I love Audrey Hepburn and I wish I could be Holly Golightly.  My dear boyfriend listened and got me Tiffany’s for my birthday (Not my first but my favorite pieces).   Heck, I come from a family where Tiffany’s is basically a religion (There may have been a Tiffany’s bridal shower cake and the box collection might be considered decoration).

So I was bored on Pinterest when I saw my cousin had found Tiffany blue nail polish by China glaze called For Audrey.  Immediately, I knew I had to have it.  And what did I do?  I marched my butt to Sally’s got it and the white nail polish pen so I can try to recreate this picture on my nails.

I have never been one to be good at nail art but I am pretty darn good at painting my nails.  It’s a talent you develop when you think manicures and pedicures are just too darn expensive no matter how awesome they are.  But I desperately needed to try it.

However, I have not been having the greatest luck with nail polish lately.  My nails were this very lovely lime green from a brand that I love because it seems to last forever even without a topcoat.  I got tired of it and went to take it off and it left my nails with this nice orange-yellow stain.  Oh, golly gee damn!  Quel rat (Sorry couldn’t resist a few more quotations)!  Then, with Michael in class so much lately, I had some free time and painted them this pretty bronze color from the same brand that I put a purple and gold light glitter on top of as a topcoat.  It lasted for a good amount of time.  So long that I figured I’d have it on when we went out for our anniversary and it matched my dress really well.  Well, I was wrong.  I looked down the night before dinner and my nails were starting to chip.  No biggie, I thought.  I figured I’d just paint them again.  I had time.

This is where things get messy.  Now, I will preface this with I am neither a Beiber fan nor a Kardashian fan.  That said, I own nail polish from both collections from Nicole by OPI.  You would think that anything with the name OPI and that expensive would mean that it would last a fairly long time…especially if you use a topcoat.  Boy, are you wrong.  I found these two to be some of the worst polish I own (which is a lot) for chipping.  I could paint my nails in the morning and have them chipped by dinner time.  However, I love the purple of I’m a Belieber and the super purple and blue glitter of Kendall on the Katwalk.  I figured purple dress, purple nail polish…and some massive glitter on top for the special occasion.  I painted my nails, went over to the air conditioner, thinking that it would make them dry faster.  Somehow, dumb me hit them against the A/C and smeared everything.  Being the resilient (Read: stubborn) girl I am, I was going to redo it.  Well, trying to take that crap off made my hands look like I had molested a sparkly smurf.  I gave up, read Warlords of Mars, and played on Facebook.

Finally, we reach this experiment (Note: my toes are unchipped with that bronze color this entire time.  Score one for that brand for sure).  I decided that I would do Audrey on top and Jackie O on bottom.  My toes are currently a really pale pink with a light speckling of pink glitter on top (Hey, if it’s pink or sparkly, it’s mine…double of it’s both).  As for on top, there were quite a few options on Pinterest that I could have gone with.  I especially like the one where every nail but your ring fingers are Tiffany blue and those are shiny silver.  However, I went with the picture above.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for a little blue box wrapped up in a white ribbon.

I could almost garuantee mine were not going to look as good as the picture.  I just wanted something that looked good enough to go out in public with and I was going to try my darn-est to make that happen.  I got the blue on fine.  I’m good at just doing my own nails with color (or glitter hehehe).  That wasn’t what I was worried about.  I was worried about the ribbon part.

That’s where things got complicated.  I got my left pinky done.  Pause for sigh of relief.  Then I skipped over to my middle finger.  Quel disaster!  I made my mama everything off that finger and I had to repaint it.  I figured out the trick after that (A weird maneuver where your hand is upside down and your going like you are writing.  I don’t know.  It worked for me).  I got all the lines done and got to the even scarier part (This isn’t fair that you basically have to save the worst for last).  Shocker!  I got it.  The loops were a little hard but it didn’t turn out too terrible.  It’s good enough to wear to work and the baseball game tonight.  In order to save my masterpiece, I dried them in front of the A/C, being sure not to hit them against it (I still have no clue how I managed that one).  And to save it even more, there is about three coats of silver glitter (because who doesn’t love a something silver being inside that box?) and clear topcoat.

Not too bad, is it?

I have to say I am quite proud of myself on this one.  What better way to celebrate girl-dom than wearing my beloved Audrey’s Tiffany’s box on my fingers and fabulous Jackie’s pink on my toes?  I love my classy girls of the past and I love them giving me ideas for myself even more.  Plus, a big thank you goes out to my mama for helping me when I messed up, going with me to buy the polish, paying for it, and sitting there with me while I did this 🙂

Leave a Reply

