Put Your Brave Face On

Published July 11, 2012 by jrm17

I am far from a brave person.  I hate being the center of attention and really just being around large groups of people in general makes me nervous.  I much more prefer to sit at home without any loudness or anything out of the norm.  I guess I’m just a homebody but I prefer introvert.  However, things changed a little during this past week while we were on vacation.

First off, y’all know that I am can be a huge redneck (Much exemplified by my camo hats and koozies on the beach and my brand new Confederate flag beach towel).  One of the things that I have always wanted to do thanks to my redneck side was to ride a mechanical bull.  Somehow, the opportunity had never came…until last Friday.  Actually, that was the night where all my braveness came out.

You see, it was supposed to be a relatively quiet night.  The plan was to go to this little one room theater in Manteo to see Madagascar 3.  We’ve been going to the Outer Banks for about 17 years now and the most we’ve done is stepped foot in the place on the ghost tour.  We’ve always thought it was super cute but this was the year we finally decided to see a movie there.  However, when we got there, the showing was cancelled because of a family death 😦 .  I completely understand the cancellation and felt really bad for the owners but that left me trying to figure out what we were going to do now.  Solution: Taylor Kitsch (I mean what isn’t the boy the answer to).  We would go see Savages at the big theater in Kitty Hawk (I think.  I don’t know.  KDH and Kitty Hawk run together in my head since I spend most of my time in Nags Head).  Problem: The next showing wasn’t until 10:00 because we’d missed the previous one by 10 minutes and I had some plans for that night that didn’t involve a movie theater that late.

The new solution became let’s go to Kitty Hawk Kites and everything since Michael had never been there.  So we fought the annoying crowd of the parking lot and headed towards Kitty Hawk Sports (Or whatever the surf shop is at the other end).  What did a sign advertise outside the door?  Mechanical shark rides!  Why not combine my redneck with my surfer side and do it?

I bought myself some pink Peace Frog shorts to wear under my dress so I wouldn’t flash and scar everyone and hopped up on the shark.  Clearly, I did not think this through because I lasted a whole like 15 seconds on level 2 and it got a lot worse on level 3.  Apparently weighing 110 is not the ideal for mechanical shark riding because I was getting thrown around like a sack of potatoes.  I cracked my head on the dumb thing twice but kept getting back up because I was determined to do it.  It was fun.  I had some serious adrenaline going on afterwards to the point I couldn’t stop shaking.  I’m not so sure it’s something I’ll ever do again because my head won’t appreciate it And, yes, it was done in the middle of the store in front of people…hence my braveness. (I tried putting the video up but it wouldn’t work so I guess I get to save face a little bit 😛 ).

Well after a fight between me and Mike and him trash talking and being shown up on the shark, we did what my plans were that hindered seeing Savages: karaoke.  We went over to Mulligan’s (one of the best restaurants in OBX) and headed upstairs to the bar.  Yes, I spent my first time at the bar with my mama and daddy and Michael.  I ordered the Bushwhacker which wasn’t exactly what I thought it would taste like.  I’m not so sure I’ll be getting that one again.  Then I flipped through the book of songs only to find my desired song–Hell on Heels–was not there.  Luckily, Laura Bell Bundy showed up on the list and I sang some Giddy On Up.  Now, I could have really embarrassed myself and started doing the Just Dance dance to it but I didn’t.  I was trying my best not to shake my butt and look like an idiot anyway.  Mission accomplished…I hope.

Of course, that was after I drank some Alabama Slammer, too.  Don’t judge me.  I needed some courage because I was getting up there one way or another.  Turns out the bartender was born the day before me so when I got up, everyone started cheering for the birthday girl (I am allowed to celebrate my birthday for a month.  It’s how we always do it).  So, I sang it.  I went back to my seat, got a few high fives and hugs, and told my daddy he had to sing with me.  Much to my chagrin, the DJ said that Sweet Home Alabama was broke so we chose Gimme Three Steps (We had to do Lynyrd Skynyrd).  We didn’t do the best on that one but we were better than the guys who tried to sing Party In the USA without knowing the words (I totally could’ve rocked that one because there are two kinds of people in this world: those who are rollin’ with Nolan and those who can’t rock out to Party in the USA).

I think that Nags Head just has a certain thing about it that helps me come out of my shell.  It has something to do with me being more at home there I think (It’s the rednecks at our hotel most definitely).  Karaoke may just have to become part of my fun time regularly.  It’s not I don’t randomly burst out into song anyway.  The issue is that now we’re home and I might end up running into someone I know and that probably wouldn’t be good.  Now, as for the bull/shark, I’m going to have to figure out how to conquer this one.  My neighbor asked if I wore my pink cowboy boots and hat; sadly, I didn’t because I didn’t know how to pack them and that I would be riding a shark.  I’m going to have to figure this one out so I can go all out next time 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

