Cheesey Goodness

Published February 6, 2013 by jrm17

I’m a little short on things to talk about at the moment so I’m going to give you a recipe that has been a hit with my family that I found thanks to Pinterest but I changed slightly (Okay, so really only with me, Michael, Devin, Mom, Dad, and maybe my pappy because the rest of my family avoids things that they’ve never eaten and don’t like to ask what’s in things).  I’ll tell you right now that the first time I made this, I had plans to make dinner for me and Michael and I ended up just eating this and left him on his own…I might be a terrible girlfriend or the dip might be just that good.Ingridients

  • 16 oz. Velveeta (about half the block)
  • 1 can of Rotel
  • fresh spinach
  • bacon

First, cut the cheese into small cubes and place them in a microwavable bowl.  Place it in the microwave until it melts.  For mine, it depends on what mood it’s in.  I made two batches for the Super Bowl on Sunday and it took two different times to melt the same amount of cheese.  The first one only took about 2-3 minutes while the second one took almost 5.  After you get the cheese melted, add as much spinach as you would like to the cheese still in the microwavable bowl.  Pop that back in for about 1 minute and then stir it to make the spinach wilt a bit more and mix with the cheese.

At this point, you can move the cheese and spinach to the bowl you plan on serving in if the one you are using isn’t big enough to add more ingredients.  If not, move on to the Rotel.  Drain the juice (or as much as possible) off the tomatoes and add that to the cheese.  Mix that together and it should begin to have a more dip-like texture.  I found that the cheese itself is a little thick but when you add the Rotel, it thins out, making the correct texture.

Finally, add bacon.  The first time I made it, I crumbled up some leftovers that we had in the fridge but this time I used about a jar of bacon bits (The real kind.  Not that fake Baco stuff).  I will tell you now that you need to eat this warm.  If you let it cool, it begins to congeal and while it still tastes really good, it just doesn’t work on chips.  Your tortilla chips will break and you won’t get any dip and it’s just sad.  I will also let you know that if you don’t like spicy, this probably isn’t the dip for you.  Michael and I ate this and then tried a jalapeno dip my mom bought for the party.  The second one just kind of tasted like cream cheese compared to my dip (We may have added a good bit of hot pepper relish to give the jalapeno one some flavor).

We had a lot leftover from the party (Thankfully, Michael took home about half) but I think I’m going to try it on top of some grilled chicken.  Maybe on top of some barbeque chicken.  We’ll see.  I think it could be really good on top of a baked potato, too.  I’ll have to get back to you on those theories but it is definitely delicious with tortilla and pita chips.  I guess we’re just a dippy family, though.

Leave a Reply

