Blueberry Goodness

Published March 25, 2013 by jrm17
All that's left after a weekend in the house.

All that’s left after a weekend in the house.

Lord, sometimes it sucks being a girl.  I’ve been having some serious cravings for sweets lately.  Ones that may have ended in my eating a whole bag of Reese’s peanut butter chips after devouring basically three helpings of cheese fries.  Friday, thanks to my dear pregnant cousin eating one, left me wanting a BLT real bad….followed by a lemon blueberry pound cake.  You may remember me complaining that the blueberry scones I had over spring break sucked in comparison to the best ones I ever had.  Well, this cake recipe was good enough to make up for it and all the disappointment I faced.

For once I followed the recipe perfectly.  I started with beating the sugar and butter together (a cup of each).  I was trying to listen to The Band Perry and Luke Bryan and dance around the kitchen, but that had to be interrupted by the sound of the mixer.  I even added each of the four eggs once at a time.  This is a serious break through here for me because normally, I would just throw everything in the bowl, mix, and bake.  Something this time made me stop and think that I should probably follow the direction exactly….probably because I mess the every recipe Michael and I try up because I don’t like to listen.

Okay, maybe it wasn’t exactly to every last detail.  I did add the flour and baking soda to another bowl, but I did not only add half my blueberries.  I used a whole bag of thawed frozen ones, and they just all went into the dry ingredients.  By coating the in the dry, I think it helps them not get sticky or something.  I don’t know.  It seemed like the logical thing to do though.  You can fold in half and do whatever the directions say, but I had them spread well throughout the whole cake doing it my way.

Now, I used a rectangular cake pan like you would use for brownies so mine didn’t take an hour and a half to bake.  I would say it took between 40 minutes to an hour.  I’m not completely sure because I got online shopping and singing and dancing around the kitchen while I waited.  I may have ended up buying a super cute sweatshirt with a monogrammed chevron pocket while I waited.  Oh well….

Once I took the cake out of the oven, I let that cool while I made the glaze.  Usually, I don’t do glazes or homemade frostings because I can never get them right, but I wanted to have the lemon taste, too.  I was really trying to get something as close to as delicious as those farmer’s market scones were as possible.  I poured the right amount of powder sugar and milk, but we didn’t have a lemon in the fridge.  We don’t really keep them around unless we’re making lemonade.  However, my pappy had some lemon juice for his sweet tea so I just squeezed some of that in.  I’m sure there’s people who would complain that it’s artificial, but it tasted just fine to me.  I mean, I did eat half the pan that night after all.

It was a pretty good hit around the house.  Everyone went back for seconds (or thirds, fourths, fifths, and sevenths if you are me).  Mama didn’t like it warm, but the rest of us did.  I’d say if you are looking for a blueberry dessert or a sweet breakfast treat, definitely consider giving this one a try.  It’s going to be on our dessert recipe list for sure.

Leave a Reply

