It’s A Love-Hate World

Published April 1, 2013 by jrm17

I’ve been in a very conflicting mood lately.  I want to dress preppy, but I don’t want to get out of yoga pants.  I want to stay in school because I’m scared of the future, but I want to work and make money.  I don’t want to gain weight, but I want to eat all the candy in my Easter basket in one sitting.  I’m living in a confusing world at this moment.  So I thought I’d make a list of 7 things that I hate or love.  Bear with me.  It’ll ease my mind.

1. Food

Now, being a girl in America, this is something we all deal with.  How do we fit the traditional concept of beauty but still eat and drink everything we want?  Lucky for me, I do enjoy working out, and I’ve got a fairly good metabolism.  Those qualms about beauty don’t bother me so much now that Michael and I have been together so long.  I still complain about being fat, and I’m scared to death I won’t fit in my bridesmaid dress come October, but that hasn’t stopped me from eating frozen yogurt with lots of toppings or a whole bag of Reese’s peanut butter chips.  I eat pretty healthy most of the time, but there are somethings you just can’t stop once you’ve started.  (See: me eating 3 candy sticks at work yesterday because I found out I get to keep the broken ones.)

2. Shopping

Call me spoiled.  Call me materialistic.  Call me a girl.  I don’t care.  I love a good shopping spree, and trust me, it would be cheaper than if I went to therapy because I’d be in that office a LONG time.  I’ve been a believer in retail therapy so long that I know how to get the most bang out of my buck (Yes, I meant for the pun).  I buy one thing a day for about a week or something every few days, if it’s going to last a few weeks.  I’ve been on a sale ball though because I’ve been getting good stuff cheap (Haha, that’s the Ollie’s slogan).  Lilly Pulitzer monogrammed t-shirt- check and on right now.  Monogrammed sweatshirt with chevron stripe pocket-check…once it’s shipped.  Monogrammed travel cup-check.  Kate Spade iPhone case-check and 60 percent off.  Kate Spade Daycation bag-check and about 50 percent off the outlet price so about 75 percent off retail.  I’m proud though.  My therapy is working because I refrained from the bracelet at work yesterday and just about every in J. Crew last night.  I’m scared that I might be cutting into my bank account when I don’t have a post-graduation job yet, but sometimes a girl needs some shopping done.

3. Schoool

Okay, I know we all have this problem, but it’s rare for me to hate school.  I would be a student if that were a career because I love learning and sitting in class.  However, all my friends have graduated so actually going to school with the exception of my senior seminar class is a very lonely experience.  I have no one to talk to so it sucks.  I have made some friends in my self defense class, but I only talk to them when I’m in that class so I basically go to class, go to the gym, and go home so I don’t have to feel like a social leper.  Man, I wish we had sororities at my school.

4. My iPhone case

I know this sounds really stupid, but I’m having a love-hate relationship with my phone right now.  You see, I have the pink Realtree Otterbox, and I absolutely love it.  However, the rubbery part is peeling a little and sometimes the size is kind of annoying.  Nevertheless, I love that I can accidentally (or sometimes not so accidentally) throw my phone, and it won’t break.  I have the iPhone 4 so it’s all glass, which scares me to death because I won’t be getting a new phone if this one breaks, but you can’t be 99 cents with a contract upgrade.  Saturday night, I bought a rubber Kate Spade one that’s pink with white polka dots.  If it’s not camo, then polka dots is probably my second favorite pattern.  (Being a Bama girl houndstooth is close behind and being a Southern girl, Lilly Pulitzer, chevron stripes, and seersucker aren’t far either.  See.  Look at all this indecision.)  The Kate Spade one is on my phone now, but I’m being extra careful about dropping it, and I don’t think it will be too long before my phone and Otterbox are reunited.

5. Post Graduation

How cool is it to actually be graduating with not only a degree in communication arts but one in sociology, possibly magnum cum laude (at the very least cum laude.  We’ll see how my grades go this final semester), and with a paper in the archives of the library?  Not to brag or be big headed, but I’m pretty proud of myself.  All that success does not mean post graduate success though.  I will still have a crazy payment to make to pay off loans for the next 20 years.  Thank God for all my scholarships because this private school stuff is expensive.  I feel sorry for those who didn’t get good scholarships, but considering how the majority of the student body lives socioeconomically (I don’t), I’m sure mommy and daddy will take care of that.  Like I said, let’s pay me to be a student.  I’m 40 job applications in and have only heard back from 2.  It’s driving me crazy.  I would just like to be able to pay for school and live a middle class life.  I’m not worried about being rich.  I just would like to worry less in general.

6. Nail Polish

I’m a girl who hates going to get manicures because they are expensive, but I love painting my own nails.  The only problem is when they chip a few days later, and I have to do it all over again.  Even worse is that some of my favorite nail polish only lasts about 4 hours because it decides it hates me, and I have no patience as I wait for it to dry, which is why my nails were very messy at work yesterday.  I know this is a total girl thing, but we’ll see how long this nail polish I got for Easter lasts.  I think watching Legally Blonde while doing them will make it last longer.  On a side note, a former interview was with a gentleman who wrote a song about this situation because his wife does her nails so often.

7. The West Wing

As I am typing this, I have The West Wing playing on the TV.  I got the whole series for Christmas and just started season 6.  I wasn’t too happy when Sam left and was replaced by Will, who I don’t like very much, but I dealt with it.  My professor told me I wouldn’t like the show for the next few seasons.  Well, she was certainly right.  I took a break from blogging this so I could Facebook my cousin-in-law about how outraged I am.  THEY KILLED LEO!  What is wrong with these people?  Him and Toby and Josh are the best characters.  I really like Donna and CJ, but I love the boys.  How can you kill him?  He was awesome and a war hero and he kept President Bartlett from screwing up the country.  Oh, man.  This isn’t right.  I was pretty attached to the show until this moment.  I think they just jumped the shark for me.  I know I’ll finish the series because I have to know the rest and because I do love the rest of the cast, but that’s not right.  You can’t just go around killing main characters all willy nilly.  I mean this is like when they killed Bobby on Supernatural or Jeremy on Vampire Diaries (though I’m not sure he’s totally dead).  I can’t even express my pain and anger right now.  Ugh!

Okay, I am done my contradictions.  This world is a love-hate place, and I’m just taking part in it.  I’m going to go finish up Beautiful Chaos because it won’t let me down.  I know Ethan will come back in the last book so fiddle dee dee on The West Wing people.

Leave a Reply

