SEVEN!

Published April 21, 2013 by jrm17

Today could get fun with the challenges.  The first one is about reading….

Yes, I love to read, as a matter of fact.  But what do I read?  Is everything a good answer?  I guess I could list a few of my favorites for you.  My two favorite classics is Gone With the Wind and The Great Gatsby.  I love the first because I really relate to Scarlett.  I’m stubborn and selfish and all those terrible things Scarlett is at the beginning of the book.  I’m hoping I have my Rhett Butler–though they aren’t very much alike–and I love the whole story behind her transition from a silly child into a smart, groundbreaking woman.  I love F. Scott’s classic because…I’m not really sure why.  I read it in high school and have been fascinated by it ever since.  I always lose myself in the neuroticism that is Gatsby and as foolish as I find Daisy, she enthralls me.  I think she’s actually very smart; my favorite line in the book is when she’s telling Nick that she hopes her daughter is a beautiful, little fool because that’s the best thing a girl can be in the world.  I completely agree and think it’s one of the most insightful things I’ve ever read.  I love the world that you enter when you read the book and really do get transported into it.  Now, if only Michael would give it back to me so I can read it before the movie comes out.  I think Leo will do wonderful and I’ve been waiting for this for over a year, but I don’t know if it will ever compare to the Mia Farrow and Robert Redford version.  That’s a beautifully done film.

I’m sure it’s pretty clear from my past posts that I also love The Vampire Diaries.  However, I’m a fan of L.J. Smith in general and my favorite of hers in actually The Forbidden Game.  I also loved The Secret Circle.  Beautiful Creatures is one of my favorite series; I find the writing to be reminiscent of the brilliant writing in the original TVD books.  I felt the same about Vampire Academy.  That’s a series I truly loved every book in and cannot wait for the movie.  I hope it doesn’t let me down like Beautiful Creatures.  Of course, there’s Sex, Drugs, and Coco Puffs.  That book blew my mind the first time I read it.  There’s a lot of Stephen King books.  A few of my favorites are Christine (I love the movie dearly but the book’s even better), Salem’s Lot, Pet Sematary (Literally, the most terrifying book I have ever read), Just After Sunset, CarrieDesperation and Mercy.  I’m a bit of a super fan.

Okay, I’ll stop on that because I could talk books forever.  The second challenge is listing 5 pet peeves:

1. Being Late (or someone being late to meet me): It’s actually a trigger for me for panic attacks.  I find it disrespectful and I just really cannot stand it.  Plus, I really don’t like having panic attacks.

2. Eating food loudly (or eating with your mouth open): It’s gross, and I am surprised not everyone’s mom taught them to do otherwise.  And the eating loudly thing is so annoying.  There’s a guy at school who I want to hit every time he breaks out a bag of chips.

3. Being disrespectful: I’m a firm believer that everyone should be respected…until they disrespect you.  Then you just have to put them in their place, but it’s just mean to not treat someone with respect.

4. Being rude to customers/service workers: I guess this is because I work in a store, but if neither end is rude, then it makes for a happy place.  Customers are paying your paycheck.  You should be thankful for that.  And, service workers are doing just that–a service for you.  They might be doing their job, but you should be thankful they are doing something for you (as long as it’s done properly).

5. Hypocrites: Why not just do as you preach?  If it’s good enough for you to preach to me, then it should be good enough for you to do.  It just drives me crazy when people are hypocrites.

Finally, we have the picture of the day.  It was supposed to be of fruit, and lucky for me, I eat fruit for lunch every day.  However, I forgot to take a picture of my lunch so here’s my favorite fruit chilling in the fridge: pineapple.

IMG_0383[1]

Leave a Reply

