Sassy Sixteen (I’m getting better. Janet can be proud.)

Published April 30, 2013 by jrm17

Today, we have something I always wonder “what if” about and what I would do if the world was ending tomorrow.  These are things I’ve actually given a lot of thought to.

The thing I always wonder “what if” about is if I went to Duke or Alabama.  There was a brief time when I really considered it, but I knew I didn’t want to leave home.  However, things would probably be really different.  First off, I would have been at both during a championship (or 3 if it were Bama).  That would have been the coolest thing ever, but I wouldn’t have the same people in my life.  I wouldn’t be best friends with Kat and Whitney.  I wouldn’t be dating Michael.  I really wonder if I would have dated a basketball or football player like I always thought I would.  Kyle Singler and Greg McElroy would have been there at the same time as me…that would have been cool.

Unfortunately, I wouldn’t be as close with my parents probably.  This bothers me now but I wouldn’t have known any difference then.  I would have definitely joined a sorority if I went to Bama and probably at Duke.  You can guarantee that I would have lived in Krzyzewskiville at Duke.  My mom always said there was no way she was sending me to Durham to live in a tent, but you can’t pass that up if you go there and love the team like I do.

I wonder if I would have had the same majors.  I might have still done communications, but I don’t think I would have done sociology.  That was something I stumbled upon because I was bored and wanted more classes (I didn’t really like my “friends” then).  I have a feeling that I could have been swayed into education by my would-be sisters if I went to Bama.  At Duke, I would have had to be an English major.  I looked when I was considering it, and there’s no journalism there.  I could have done statistics there, but I don’t know what I would have done with it.  I don’t really know how different I would have been if I went to one of those schools, but I’m a die-hard fan of both anyway.

Now, if tomorrow were the last day, I know exactly what I would do.  I would get drunk and eat all kinds of food.  I might go on a massive shopping spree, but it’s more likely that we’d have a big bonfire party in our backyard and spend it with the people we like while listening to country music.  I’d probably get a tattoo.  Okay, I’d probably get a couple.  There would definitely be a hummingbird and a Browning deer…probably the O for Orioles.  It would be really chill, but really fun.  I would just want to have a good time with people I care about.  Nothing fancy or outrageous.

Finally is my picture.  Well, I was supposed to do a photo with long exposure, but I can’t (or don’t know how) to do that with my iPhone.  Instead, I was walking to the gym when I saw the trees after the rain storm.  (We have really pretty pink flower trees on campus.)  A lot of the flowers had fallen off because of the rain, and it was just really pretty so I took a picture of that.

Pretty pink flowers :-)

Pretty pink flowers 🙂

Leave a Reply

