Solid Seventeen

Published May 1, 2013 by jrm17

Well, I’m going to try to make this one quick because I just got home, and it’s almost time for Nashville.  First off is something I am proud of.

The one thing I am really proud of is my departmental honors paper.  I turned it in last week and did the presentation the week before.  It turned out to be 104 pages after the correct margins were done, and it was one of the hardest but most rewarding things I have done.  I am blessed to have parents, a best friend, and a boyfriend who were very supportive during the few months I took to first write it and all the following craziness for editing and creating the presentation (and practicing it about a million times in front of them).  I am also very blessed to have 3 great professors who worked very hard with me to help me succeed and turn in the best paper possible.  Professor Orloff, Professor Atwood, and Professor Lee are seriously the best people at my college.  They deserve just as much recognition for that paper as I do because they edited very carefully a few times with me.

I was very proud that I could answer (almost all.  Thank Prof. Orloff for bailing me out of the one I didn’t know) questions after my presentation.  Actually, I most proud that I could give that 15 minutes presentation, fir everything in I wanted, make sense to people in the audience without a clue of what I was talking about, and make them laugh in the process.  My hard work will forever be stored in the archives at our college’s library, and I feel very successful for having tackled that mountain.

The second thing was what do I want to be when I grow up.  Well, we know what I will be doing after graduation–marketing and sales–but there are a few jobs I’ve always wanted.  One would be a country music star, but I’m not quite sure I was every going to have the voice for that.  I guess I’ll just have to stick to karaoke in the bar.  Second, of course, would be a journalist.  It will always be where my heart is.  I love to write and research, and a journalist is what I am.  I would love to work in a store like my beloved Vintage Lady forever, and I think being a farmer would be something I’d love.  I’d really do any kind of small business work because I love interacting with people but also having that relationship with the product.  Finally, I would love to work in the film industry.  I’ve never been sure which job I would want–director, producer, writer, editor–but I love doing all of them.  I can also thank Professor Orloff for that dream because she taught me all I know about the movie industry, and I’ve always envied her past career.

Today’s picture was supposed to be of technology.  I lucked out big time here because of my nerd boyfriend.  You see, Michael’s side job is selling video game stuff on eBay.  Therefore, I took a picture of not just one piece of technology but of all the junk…I mean technology/video game stuff that covers his floor.  (I’m hoping that having it posted on the Internet will convince him to clean his floor.)

Too much video game stuff....

Too much video game stuff….

Leave a Reply

