Totally Twenty

Published May 4, 2013 by jrm17

It’s official.  Pinterest will not work on my computer for some reason so I’m am googling 30 Day Challenges to come up with what I need to do.  Hopefully I picked the right ones.

We begin with concerts I have attended.  Well, my first concert was Little Big Town at the Boonsboro Carnival.  “Boondocks” had just come out so somehow we got them before they hit it big and cost too much.  I still love them today.  I saw the Jonas Brothers at the Verizon Center for their world tour.  Don’t judge me.  My best friend’s parents got the tickets for us for high school graduation.  Camille loved them.  I saw Charlie Daniels at Pickin’ in the Panhandle a few years ago.  That was really cool.  It was this huge bluegrass festival in a field with awesome food and a bunch of bands, and then Charlie headlined.  Let me tell you: that man can still rock a crowd, and he is seriously the coolest person ever.

I’ve seen quite a few bands at the Frederick Fair.  I saw Josh Turner a few years ago.  I wasn’t impressed.  The only reason I went was because I won the tickets.  We saw Foreigner the year after I saw him.  That was epic.  They are still so good…even if they only have one real member and one from Dokken.  We saw Billy Currington two years ago.  He’s so good and so cute.  He did the whole concert barefoot and brought his dog out when he sang “Like My Dog.”  Last year, we went to see the Pistol Annies.  I don’t think I need to tell you how good a show this one was.  I love those girls.  We also may have snuck peak at Montgomery Gentry the night after.  That was pretty cool.

I’ve gone to Merriweather Post Pavilion a few times, too.  The first was back in 2009 or 2010 for the Bamboozle Roadshow.  This was when it was good and all pop-rock bands (because I was into that then).  We saw Forever the Sickest Kids, Boys Like Girls, Cartel, Good Charlotte, and All Time Low.  They were all really energetic and good.  I also Cartel again last year with Michael when they did a concert at our college.  Two years ago, I saw Josh Thompson and Miranda Lambert there (and a special appearance by the Annies).  It was probably the best concert I’ve been to.  They played for a few hours…like a really long time, and you could tell how much their fans mean to them.  Miranda even started tearing up when she sang “House That Built Me” (This was pre-Four the Record release).  Finally, last year as a combo my birthday-Father’s Day present, we saw Luke Bryan and Jason Aldean.  Jason was cool.  Whatever.  He didn’t sing the songs I knew until the end of the show.  But Luke?  Oh, man.  That is not only a sexy, talented man, but he can work the stage and is funny….not that we all didn’t already know that.  Just take what you’ve seen on TV and multiply it like a hundred for how awesome he is in real life.  I think the present ended up being more for me and Mom then Daddy, but Daddy is a huge Luke fan.  It’s the only concert we’ve gone to where he’s bought a t-shirt.

I’m adding at least two more this year to the list.  We are seeing Justin Moore (so cute!) at the Frederick Fair in September and Florida Georgia Line at the Clarke County Fair in August.  I have to say, I finally figured out why I like “Round Here” so much, and I’m pretty sure it’s because he rhymes my name with Chevy, and I just really like the way he says Jessie.

Okay, this second challenge is the one where I’m not sure if it’s the one I’ve been doing, but what the heck, right?  I’m pretty sure it is.  I’m supposed to write about my fears.  My biggest one at the moment is how I will adjust to working and having to commute so far.  I’m a little scared of how well I will do at this job.  Probably because my biggest fear in general is failure.  I hate letting people down and thinking someone is disappointed in me.  Also, I know Michael will be mad at me for this, but I’m really scared of our future.  This is going to be a big adjustment for us, and I’m not sure how we are going to handle it.  The only other thing I’m fearing right now is money.  I guess, I’m not really scared of my financial situation, but I worry about it constantly.  I mean my college wasn’t exactly cheap–especially considering all the scholarship money I got lowered it–and I’ve got to pay that off now.

There is one thing I have always been scared of, and it’s going to sound really stupid.  That’s losing the people who I care about.  I think it’s because I lost a lot of people who I really cared about in my teens.  Those were people who would be there for me now.  I know they still are spiritually, but it’s not exactly the same.  I wish they could be here with me for graduation, and I get really scared when I think about the people I have left not being there for other important things.  I guess I have an abandonment issue…just goes hand in hand with my trust and aggression issues, I guess (I thought it was funny).

Lastly, we have the photo for today.  It was supposed to be some camera technique (bokeh?  I think that was the word) that blurred the blurred the background so you focus on only your focal point.  Well, if you can do that with the iPhone, I don’t know how.  Instead, you are getting a picture of what I did today.  Since this is the last weekend where I am still free and my daddy had off, we took a family day trip.  It was all about winging it and the adventure, and we ended up at the Apple Blossom Festival in Winchester, VA.  It’s not too far from our house, but it’s not someplace we go to a lot.  Plus, Daddy found out last night that Scotty McCreery was going to be in the parade.  I love Scotty…like a super lot…like when I was upset, I made Michael watch his Day Jobs episode.  He’s just so cute.  So, here’s the picture I got of my dear, little Scotty.

Aww, so cute :-)

Aww, so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

