Twisted Twenty-Three

Published May 7, 2013 by jrm17

Today’s could be either heartfelt or not so much.  I’m not sure what direction I’m going in.  The topics are a letter to someone and something I miss.  I think I’m going in the not so heartfelt direction because I really don’t feel like making myself cry by writing to my Aunt Odie or Grandad.  Here’s my letter….

Dear Mr. Nicholas Sparks,

As I am writing this, I am watching Safe Haven.  This is probably my favorite movie and definitely my favorite of the ones you’ve produced.  It reminds me of my dear Manteo, and the plot is absolutely wonderful.  I loved The Lucky One.  That was actually the start of it all for me and your work.  Of course, you really pulled me in by casting Zac Efron as ex-military.  Bravo, you really knew what you were doing there.  However, as much as I love both the Safe Haven book and movie, Nights in Rodanthe ripped me apart.

You see, I had just gotten into your books when we were in Nags Head.  My mom decided we’d ride down the coast to find Adrienne’s house.  It’s a beautiful house.  As soon as we got home, I dove into the book.  (I don’t know if you are familiar with Eddie at The Christmas Shoppe in Manteo, but by a stroke of luck, he had it stocked when we visited him.)  Your writing in that book is the absolute best I have ever read.  Adrienne and Paul’s story–especially told in that manner–was beautiful and romantic and…I couldn’t put it down.  I literally fell asleep reading it after spending the few previous hours enthralled.  Never have I cried as hard as I did as when she learned about Paul’s fate.  I don’t know how you did it, but the words on those pages had me bawling as if someone very close to me had died.  I really wish the movie would have had the same affect.  No offense to you, but I was very upset and disappointed with the film version.

I would like to say one thing to you though.  As much as those 3 books moved me (I cry with any kind of military death), I think it’s wrong for you to be known as the author of The Notebook and Dear John.  I have never watched those movies or read those books, but I refuse.  I very much dislike Channing Tatum as an actor, and I cannot handle anything dealing with Alzheimer’s (personal experience problem).  I would only want to see the movies if I read the books, so those are not options for me.  I wish you would be better known for Safe Haven and Nights In Rodanthe as a book.  I cannot praise either of those enough.  It’s like Stephen King being known for two popular books rather than his greats (though I always find his books to be better and I’m still undecided on your work.  I very much enjoy both for you and Mr. King, though).

North Carolina is the perfect state.  It’s home to me even though I live a bit farther north.  That alone is enough to make me read a book.  I thank you for that and the great places you’ve taken me.  Also, I want to paint my kitchen floor yellow…my boyfriend blames you for this lol.  I can’t wait to start my next adventure with your words.

Okay, that probably wasn’t as emotional as I want, but I really love Safe Haven and Nights In Rodanthe (the book!  I cannot explain how upset I was with the movie, and no, it has nothing to do with me being too young to relate to Adrienne as I was rudely told by a certain “family friend.”  It has everything to do with the movie not doing justice to the beauty and brilliance of the written word of the story.)  Now onto something I miss.

One thing I really miss from my childhood is having people to turn to.  No, that’s not fair.  I miss the family I once had.  Today, we are a bigger family than ever with the addition of significant others, and on Friday, great-grandchild number 3 will arrive.  However, I liked our family when we had Grandad, Uncle Lester, and Aunt Odie.  Not that I don’t love Beezy and our other new members, but those were three people I loved deeply.

There are favorite in my family, and they are very clearly drawn.  I am not one of them.  I don’t fit the mold, and my grandma points that out time and time again.  I’m not blonde or preppy enough or something.  She’s not a big fan of tomboy, redneck, country, smart, or anything that doesn’t step straight out of Cosmo.  She doesn’t really like that I speak my mind and pave my own path and ideas.  I should be the same as the other two girls.  Ummm, no.  Nevertheless, my grandad did love me.  I was his favorite because I was smart (and a smart ass) and I loved sports and getting dirty and everything those other two hate.  He loved me for who I am, not for who everyone thinks I should be.

Of course, one of those girls wouldn’t be so bad if Uncle Lester were still around.  He kept his daughter grounded, and I don’t think she’d be quite as materialistic and self-centered as she is today if he were still here.  Then again, our dear little Brylin would be a million times more ornery and spoiled and funny because his Pappy Lester would have thought the world of that little boy.

The last person on that list was probably the hardest to lose.  She was the most recent, and it still hurts every day.  My Aunt Odie was the kind of lady that everyone loved.  She was your average, church-going, cookie-baking Southern woman, but she was so much more than that, too.  She never had a bad thing to say about someone.  No, she would be her mean words with the sweetest spin possible, but let you know exactly what she thought of someone.  She loved me and my mom like we were her own children/grandchildren.  I think this one hurts the most because it happened so quickly.  She was fine one day, and it seemed like she was gone the next.  I see her house almost every day, and it tears me up that I couldn’t afford to buy it.  I like to think I’m a lot like my Aunt Odie, though.  My favorite story about her was told at her funeral.  One day at church, Aunt Odie didn’t think they’d have enough food for the dinner so she went into the bathroom.  She’d been in there a long time so the pastor went to check on her.  He asked her what she was doing, and she said, “Well, Pastor, you say God can hear us anywhere so I thought it’d be a good place to pray seeing as I’m scared there won’t be enough food.  I was praying we’d have enough for everyone.”  She loved Dancing With the Stars.  She once told me, “I don’t know who this Situation is, but he sure can’t dance.”  She laughed and then made me get home so I wouldn’t miss Vampire Diaries because she knew how much I love that show.  My favorite personal memory of her was sitting with her as she got worse and listening to all her stories of when Ronald, her husband, was alive.  She made me laugh so hard.  I loved her like a grandmother.  Maybe because she loved me in a way my grandmas don’t.  I wear the necklace she gave me to help me find strength constantly, and my mom and I make her famous sugar cookies to remember her by every Christmas.  God must have needed the best angel he could find when He took her from us, but He definitely got a good one.

Okay, that’s it for today.  There’s no picture because I can’t get a sunflare on a rainy day.  Maybe tomorrow.  If not, I’ll find something else natural and cool.

Leave a Reply

