The Real 50 Shades

Published May 22, 2013 by jrm17

I’m at a loss of things to write about.  I want to talk about Gerald’s Game by Stephen King, but I can’t because I’ll ruin things for Michael.  Hmmm, maybe I can do that without giving things away.

Here’s what’s going on.  I may have quit my new job on day 2 because it had nothing to do with marketing like I thought.  I thought it meant advertising, not walking door to door to sell stuff.  Therefore, I’m jobless (well, apart from The Vintage Lady and freelancing) and broke.  This might not be good because I just discovered this new used book store we now have, 2nd and Charles (Yes, the first place I applied to after I quit).

Anyway, I went a little crazy on books because I got a good gift card with Amazon book trade-ins.  There was all kinds of Janet Evanovich, Stephen King, Beautiful Creatures, and Nicholas Sparks in that box.  However, I realized that a Stephen King I thought I had, I actually did not.  I was bummed but brushed it off.  The is until I got into this store…

It’s like my Mecca.  There’s books and records and cds and dvds and all kinds of stuff I love everywhere.  On my first trip, I got a books called something about tales of the macabre (brand new), Stop Dressing Your Six-Year Old Like a Skank by Celia Rivenbark, and Gerald’s Game by Stephen King (the missing book).  So, add that to all the Between the Number Stephanie Plum books, Night Shift by Stephen King, True Believer and At First Sight by Nicholas Sparks, Beautiful Redemption, The Tommyknockers by Stephen King, and the North and South trilogy by John Jakes, and you get yourself a pretty good stack of books (Plus, Michael just bought my 11/22/63 by Stephen King because I’ve wanted it really bad.  It’s a giant book but on the pile now).

I have a story and point I swear.

I was telling Michael about this stack, saying how I wouldn’t have time to read with the crazy hours of that job (Seriously, an hour drive for a job that was 11 a.m. to 9:15 p.m. plus 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Saturdays….ummm, no) when I mentioned that I really enjoyed talking about Gatsby with him.  I mused that it’d be the only book we ever read together because he’d never read good ol’ Nick Sparks (no matter how adamant I am that he’d not all mushy romance) and I’d never read Orson Scott Card (the only sci-fi I do involves Taylor Kitsch…ahem…John Cater in nothing but his cowboy boots).  That’s when it struck us that we both like Stephen King.  Michael’s never read one of his books, but he likes the  movies, and while I usually complain about his dragging on, I can never get enough of him.

He went through the three I had sitting around and decided we’d read Gerald’s Game together (and both buy our copies from 2nd and Charles!).  I couldn’t wait to get started once I checked it out a little more.

I’m two chapters in because I decided we were starting (Sorry, Michael!  I finished my book earlier).  I don’t think this one will have Stephen King Syndrome.  There seems to be just enough detail without the dragging.  I can’t say much more, but here’s the log line I would give the script: It’s 50 Shades of Grey meets the master of horror and makes you face the terror of being alone.  Good, right?

Beautiful Redemption is going to get my attention right now while I weight for Michael to catch up.  I can’t wait to get farther.

Leave a Reply

