Issues…I Have Issues

Published June 3, 2013 by jrm17

I don’t understand this, but I am having a huge issue with this…trend going on in book series that I like.  Okay, well it’s happened twice, but either way, I’m not happy (sort of) about it.

It started with Pretty Little Liars.  I read them religiously from PLL to Wanted (I think.  I don’t think I read Twisted).  That was supposed to be it.  Sara Shepard has said that it would be the last book in the series, and I read it as that.  I was content with the ending so bring on the television show.  But then, one day I’m wandering around Barnes and Noble and BOOM!  New Pretty Little Liars book.  What are these shenanigans?  There weren’t supposed to be any more books.  I was told otherwise.

I didn’t do it.  To this day, I have yet to read farther in the series than the book I was told was supposed to be the last.  I was content with the ending, and I wasn’t ruining it.  That was that.  Or so I thought.

You see, I am an avid Vampire Diaries fan, if you didn’t know.  Books, show, anything with Damon and I love it (but mostly the show).  Anyway, I love the books.  And, I stuck with the series even after LJ got the boot (though I greatly complained and was upset by this) and it started being written by the ghost writer because I just had to know what was going on with the Salvatores and Falls Church.

The books weren’t as good, but they were still pretty good.  I could get through them happily (except that whole Damon dead plot line).  We got to the last book where they defeated Klaus and all that jazz, and it was supposed to be the last book.  I was happy with the ending.  Like legit happy.  Elena made the choice we all knew she’d make, and I was actually really happy with how she tied up Damon’s story.

Then I’m looking through my emails yesterday.  Amazon sends me one that says they recommend Vampire: The Salvation: Unseen.  Huh?  No.  Let’s not ruin a good thing.  Why take something I love that ended awesome and continue it?

Well, I don’t have as much will power here.  I will have this book.  I will read it.  I will probably happily tear through it in a day and a half.  I have to know what happens to Damon.  Honestly, I like the other characters, but he’s the only one keeping me in this series.  There was a reason he was LJ’s favorite character to write for.

All I’m asking is that we stop with these false promises.  If you say you are going to end a series, end it.  Make the ending epic and be done.  Don’t keep toying with my emotions here because us bookworms get very emotionally attached to our books.  It hurts when you do things like this to us.

Leave a Reply

