Patterson For The Win

Published June 10, 2013 by jrm17

I just finished my first James Patterson book last night.  My favorite cousin-in-law suggested it to me, and since I trust her to be as big of a bookworm as I am, I got it for my birthday.  I tore my way through 1st to Die in a few hours.  It was a easy, great read, and I can’t wait to take on 2nd Chance…once I get through the rest of my stack…or maybe I’ll just add it too.

The story follows a group of women who are all connected professionally to a series of bride-groom murders.  Mostly, I’d say it’s from the point of view of Lindsay, the inspector on the case, but you get it from the other girls, the killer/suspect, and the newlyweds, too.  I’m very picky about if I like when POVs are changed throughout a book, and I don’t think it would have been as good if he’d kept it to one person’s.  Establishing the series like this makes it easier for the rest of the books, unlike with Beautiful Redemption.

I really like the concept of the Women’s Murder Club.  These are the kinds of friends I wish I had now that I’m in adulthood.  They all meet up, discuss the murders, eat Mexican food, and drink margaritas.  Sounds like a perfect night out to me.  They are all very respected in their field–except maybe Cindy, but she’s making her way there after breaking the story in the first book.

One problem I had when I started reading the book was the super short chapters.  They are all only 2 or 3 pages.  I don’t know if that’s something normal for James Patterson since this is the first for me, but I got over it about halfway through.  Normally, I decide to stop when I reach the end of a chapter, but with ones this short, I didn’t know what to do.  I stopped at the end of chapters, but when the plot seemed to be at a good stopping point, like a change of scene or point of view.

On Goodreads, I read that a lot of people on there were having issues with shallow characters and I don’t know what else, but I didn’t find that to be true (or maybe after reading Stephen King last, I didn’t notice because shallow characters were a breath of fresh air).  Then again, I find the people on Goodreads who leave comments to be very negative for the most part.  I’m all about critiquing books, but you know what you are getting into for the most part when you start a book by a prominent author.  This isn’t some indie, amateur author we’re talking about here.

These are the kinds of books I find myself more drawn to as I make my transition away from young adult novels (not that I will ever give them up). I really like crime books with a lighter aspect.  This is like a more serious, less dirty Stephanie Plum, but not overly serious.  I was happy with my first exposure to Patterson’s writing.  I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.  I will definitely pay forward the advice I was given and suggest it to anyone looking for a next read (especially if you want shallow characters, if you ask my fellow Goodreaders).

Leave a Reply

