The Lilly Girl Knows Best

Published June 14, 2013 by jrm17

The Lilly Girl is always full of surprises.  She lives every day like it’s a celebration.  Never has a dull moment and makes every hour a happy hour.  Our dear Lilly Pulitzer said this to describe the girls (like me) who absolutely adore her clothes and every thing they represent (Well, me when I can afford it and find it cheap…just saying).  Something else about Lilly girls is that we are always learning…about the best of everything!  Here’s some things I’ve learned lately…

First of all, Pink campus shorts are the best shorts ever.  I had a gift card for Victoria’s Secret, which I obviously kept for the semi-annual sale.  I used it to jump on the Orioles shorts and another pair of gray and pink shorts I’d had my eye on.  I loved them so much that I went back today and got another pair.  They are super comfortable, and while they don’t have the spandex shorts for when you are working out, they do have the underwear lining to help keep you feeling good after a hard run.  I can guarantee you that I will definitely be buying more of these shorts (as long as they are cute colors.  There was a reason some of the shorts had not been bought yet).

Second, West Virginians know how to make a good fruit wine.  I have bought two kinds now, though I would recommend Forks of Cheat first.  Both kinds (I can’t remember the name of the other kind) I bought in blackberry for somewhere around $15, and both I have been very happy with.  The Forks of Cheat had less of a alcohol taste, but both were very sweet, very blackberry, and very worth the couple extra bucks more than I would usually spend on wine.

Lastly, antiquing and checking out flea markets in the best (in spite of me hating it when my grandad made me go.  All the places we went today were his favorites when he was alive).  We spent the day doing that, and while we didn’t buy too much, we found some awesome stuff.  There were so many antiques that my mom and I wish we had the space (and money) for them, but it’s really fun just checking out the inventory.  Of course, we also found some good deals.  My daddy and Michael bought some stuff.  I don’t know what, but I’m sure they were happy with the prices.  I was able to get the second and third Women’s Murder Club  books by James Patterson in good condition hardback for only $2 a piece, and we got a Timmy the Tooth VHS for $2.50.  For those of you who don’t know, Timmy is a tooth, and he has a pet toothbrush named Brush Brush, and they go on adventures.  It was awesome when I was a kid, and I’m super stoked to watch it (Don’t judge me.  I have issues with change and this is helping me cope with moving on to the real world).

It was a pretty good week.  I had a lot of fun with my parents and Michael doing our shopping adventure today.  Tomorrow I work at my jewelry shop before I start my big girl job next week.  Until then, I think I’m going to have as much fun as possible, be as lazy as possible, read as much as possible, and get in as much online shopping as I can.  What can I say?  I’ve got priorities.

Leave a Reply

