Real World….

Published June 24, 2013 by jrm17

…I don’t want to jinx myself here, but this whole real world might not be so bad. I’ve officially completed my first week at my job.  It’s pretty cool.  However, I just might be the exception to the rule because I really lucked out on this one.

It’s a pretty well-known fact that I don’t really get along with girls. I’m not so sure my two best girlfriends are talking to me right now (One so isn’t following the bows over bros rule). Lucky for me, after a few hours at the office, I become the only girl there because only the sports department and graphics people are mostly left. The girls at work seem nice, but I’ve really only talked to the guys. Maybe I should try being friends with the girls….

Next, I get to watch sports for a living. I really don’t understand how I lucked out on this one. I go to games, watch them, go back to the office, and write about them. Then while I’m waiting for pages to edit, I watch sports on the TV or ESPN Gameday. Like, I actually get paid for this. This is my dream job. How the heck did I manage this one?

Also, I basically have to not dress up for my job. The first day I came in with a cute dress, my great-grandmother’s pearls, and adorable flats on. I was told I was too dressed up and that no one could believe I was a sports reporter in a dress. I’ve word skirts a few times, but pants are a must for the most part (unless it’s really hot and I’m heading out). Of course, I did have some Little League parents hating on my Sperrys at the last game I went to. I’m still not sure why they felt the need to talk about my shoes and TOMS and how much they hate them within earshot when they should have been watching the great game their daughters were playing in, but they can kiss my preppy butt.

Finally–and this one really is pathetic–this enables my shopping. I have basically been on ebay trolling for Lilly Pulitzer for the past week, and today, I’m going on a pre-Mosters University shopping spree at all my favorite stores. It’s pretty freaking sweet to not have to worry so much about where your loan payments are going to come from come November.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got in me today. I’m still adjusting to this new schedule even though I’ve been off the past two days. I need to get ready to see Sully and Mike anyway (Yes, I feel like a huge kid, but I am so happy there’s a second Monsters Inc., even though I’ve waited this long for it).

Leave a Reply

