We’re Back

Published July 9, 2013 by jrm17

Yes, it’s a very weird children’s movie (watch That Guy With Glasses review it if you don’t believe me), but it also means that sadly I am back to the real world after being in the Outer Banks the past week. I’m already a bit overwhelmed with work, but I do have a little bit to say.

Now, I’ve had the predestination/free will debate a lot. I’ve come to the conclusion that somethings are predetermined and others are simply fate because of the choices you make.

Predestination, I think, comes with specific things like your personality. I was going to say the person you marry, but I don’t believe in The One.  I believe in more like The Five. There are a few people out there that are great for you, but your choices about where you end up in life decide which one you’ll end up with.

The other side of the story though really got me thinking when my parents were telling me the story of how we ended up going to OBX the first time. Apparently, my parents wanted to go away for their anniversary when I was little so they just kind of looked at the map and said we should go to North Carolina. We’ve been going there ever since, for 20 years now.

Then we ended up at the hotel we stay at for the past 11. (I won’t say the name because it’s so awesome that it’s getting too popular. We need to ensure we’ll still have a room come next July 4th.) I don’t know how we got there, but it stated the year after my uncle was diagnosed with cancer. Now we’re there, and we have friends there, and it’s the best place ever. It is home now.

That’s really all I got. I think there’s more free will than predestination, but I think that there’s only limited options we have in that free will because of what is predetermined. I’m not sure if that makes sense, but it’s what I believe.

Leave a Reply

