AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Real Possessions..aka The Conjuring

Published July 22, 2013 by jrm17

So, today we saw The Conjuring…and I don’t know what I think of it. Everyone I follow on Twitter and a lot of my Facebook friends loved it, but I am conflicted.

Was I scared?  A little bit.  Was it awesome? Absolutely. Did it out do any other horror movie I already loved? Not so sure.

I jumped quite a few times during the movie. I’m not sure why because I should’ve seen whatever happened coming, but I still jumped. Honestly, in the end, I was more upset that these events (however much the story stuck to the real story) happened to this family. Basically, you can some up the plot with four other movies: The Birds, The Exorcist, Amityville Horror, and a pinch of Chucky.

Nevertheless, I love the woman who played Lorraine Warren. Her name is Vera Far….. something. She was also the mom in Orphan and Norman Bates’s mom in Bates Motel–both two things I love dearly. She is a great actress, and I think she is super pretty. Actually, I thought the acting in general in The Conjuring was really good. I really empathized with both families.

Also, I never really trusted Ed and Lorraine Warren until I watched this. I grew up with the TAPS mentality and somewhere along the line, I remember Jason saying he didn’t get along with them. Well, I too am skeptic of anyone relying on clairvoyance, but they seem like good people who just want to help other families from what I got from the movie.

I definitely think that any family having to go through possessions like that–whether it be this movie or the Amityville house–should receive as much help as possible, considering what they went through (assuming the well known stories are mostly true).

Anyway, the movie was great. Seriously, go see it. I am probably going to see it again with my younger cousin. Mostly, I just want to see her hiding behind her popcorn and freaking out the way she did when we saw Orphan, but the movie was pretty awesome, too.

Leave a Reply

