Sparkin’ Interest

Published June 28, 2013 by jrm17

This is going to be a quick one because I’m all in a tizzy about heading to the beach in a few days. That being the case, I have been trying to finish True Believer by Nicholas Sparks before we head down there. Reading this one has really enforced what I already knew: Nick Sparks might just be my favorite author.

I have two more of his books waiting for the beach along with two by James Patterson–At First Sight and The Guardian. Why did I keep these books until near last in my pile when I knew I’d love them? Because I’m a loser and have to read the books that are set in North Carolina when I’m in North Carolina. I would have held off on True Believer but From Buick 8 by Stephen King was becoming just too tedious to finish.

The reason I love Nick Sparks so much is that he’s never let me down. I have loved every book I’ve read by him. In fact, Nights in Rodanthe made me cry harder than anything I’ve ever encountered before. I think that I love his books so much because they take me to my home. I can pretend I’m in NC without actually being there. He obviously is dead on with atmosphere of the wonderful small towns down there. I just love it. I feel like I’m back there.

My favorite so far has been Safe Haven. The book is absolutely amazing, and the movie is really good, too. Although, I would recommend watching the movie before seeing the book. One of my best friends who has read all his books told me to read At the Bend in the Road. It’s her favorite, and I really liked it. In fact, my least favorite of Sparks books I’ve read is still a book I really enjoy–The Lucky One. It drags a little, but I still overall enjoyed the book (Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I watched Zac Efron play Logan a few days before I read the book).

Okay, clearly, I love Nicholas Sparks and North Carolina. If you want a good read, check out his work. It hasn’t let me down. Anyway, I’ll be back when I come back from one of the greatest states in this country!

Leave a comment